Alfred Bradley Bursary Award

It's not the first time that the BBC Writersroom have been an instrumental part in changing my career for the better. That's not an understatement.Furquan Akhtar
Category: Radio

The Alfred Bradley Bursary Award is a £5,000 writing bursary to Northern writers new to radio and the chance of a Radio 4 drama commission.

The Award was established in 1992 to commemorate the life and work of Alfred Bradley, the distinguished BBC Radio Drama Producer and is run by Radio Drama North in conjunction with BBC Writersroom.

Previous winners include Lee Hall (Billy Elliot, War Horse), Peter Straughan (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, The Debt) and Cat Jones (Doctors, Waterloo Road) who have all gone on to have huge success across radio, TV and film. 

The winner of the 2018/19 Award has been announced as Alex Clarke

See the shortlisted writers for the 2015/16 Award who received development support from BBC Radio Drama North before the overall winner was announced as Piers Black Hawkins for his script 'Hand to Mouth'.  This was subsequently reworked and retitled 'Human Resources' before being recorded by BBC Radio Drama North in June 2017 for July broadcast.

Furquan Akhtar was the winner of the 2013 Award and developed his winning script 'Shamed' with BBC Radio Drama north. It was broadcast as an Afternoon Drama on BBC Radio 4 on Thursday 19 February 2015 at 2.15pm and was available on BBC iPlayer for 30 days. 'Shamed' was subsequently long-listed for the Imison Award for the best original script by a writer new to radio.

Alan Mockler was the runner-up in 2013 and Ian Townsend won a special BBC Writersroom prize.

Cat Jones was the winner of the 2011 Award. Read her blog about why people should enter

Previous Winners

2018/19 - Alex Clarke

2015/2016 - Piers Black Hawkins

2013 - Furquan Akhtar

2011 - Cat Jones

2009 - Chris Wilson

2006 - Mark Shand

2004 - Anthony Cropper

2002 - Julia Copus

2000 - Pam Leeson

1998 - Peter Straughan

1996 - Mandy Precious

1994 - Lee Hall

1992 - Donal Thompson 

Watch script-writing help and advice from the team at BBC Radio Drama North

Watch advice from the team at BBC Radio Drama North on how to write for Radio

Latest opportunities

  • The University of Southampton - Green Stories

    The University of Southampton - Green Stories

    Deadline: Various deadlines. Green Stories Writing Competitions are a free set of competitions with prizes, open to all. Writers are asked to write stories that present positive visions of what a sustainable society might look like, or integrate green characters, policies, solutions etc. in the backdrop of an otherwise mainstream story. Upcoming deadlines include TV Series (30 Nov), Short Film (26 March) and Screenplay (18 April).

  • International Radio Playwriting Competition

    International Radio Playwriting Competition

    Deadline: 31st January 2020. The International Radio Playwriting Competition 2020 - from the BBC World Service and British Council in partnership with Commonwealth Writers - is an opportunity for writers from outside the UK to tell their stories. It is open to new and established writers who live outside the UK and are aged over 18 on 31 January 2020.

  • Steyning Festival Theatre Trails

    Steyning Festival Theatre Trails

    Deadline: 20th December 2019. Entries are invited for the 2020 Steyning Festival Theatre Trails. These should be one act plays with a maximum performance length of 40 minutes, small casts (up to 6), and simple production and staging requirements, suitable for staging in a variety of small informal venues, indoor or outside.

View all opportunities

Latest scripts

View all scripts

Follow @BBCWritersroom on Twitter