Drama Room

I hope my experience shows there is no time limit to honing your skills as a writer, as long as you love what you do. Janice Hallett (Drama Room 2016)

BBC Writersroom's Drama Room is a 6 month writer development scheme for writers identified through our open submission script room and other talent searches.

There are normally between 15 and 20 writers on the Drama Room scheme.  They usually meet once a month and receive targeted training and development including workshops (with practical writing exercises), masterclasses, introductions and networking events, and writing briefs with the opportunity to pitch.

The aim of the scheme is to encourage and develop the best in new drama writing and to give these writers the opportunity to build strong connections with producers and help them gain BBC broadcast commissions.

Latest from the Drama Room

In our last unsolicited Script Room window for Drama scripts which closed in January 2019 we received 3634 scripts. Our team of readers are currently working hard and we'll inform everyone of the outcome as soon as possible.

From the 2018 script reading process the third Drama Room development group was chosen, comprising 15 writers who were successful in this window or identified via other talent searches. They met up for the first time at our annual TV Writers' Festival on 6th June.

Find out more about the Drama Room 2018 writers on our blog

Drama Room 2018

The third annual Drama Room writer development group met for the first time at our TV Writers' Festival in early June 2018. 

There are 15 writers in the group:

  • James Price
  • Silas Parry
  • Samara Maclaren
  • Greer Ellison
  • John O’Donovan
  • Jesse Schwenk
  • Joseph Charlton
  • Patrick Cash
  • Naomi Sheldon
  • Sian Ejiwunmi-le Berre
  • Eno Mfon
  • Paula Ogun
  • Rabiah Hussain
  • Isis Davis
  • Joshua Azouz

Drama Room 2017

Our second Drama Room development group began in June 2017 with the writers meeting for the first time and coming to our TV Drama Writers' Festival at Stratford Circus in East London.  This was followed by an intensive workshop with John Yorke in July on story structure.

These writers were in the group:

  • Adura Onashile
  • Alan Harris
  • Alyn Farrow
  • Amy Ng
  • Berri George
  • Dan Pick
  • Daniel Hopewell
  • Emma Jowett
  • Hayley Wareham
  • Henry Darke
  • Jimmy Osborne
  • Kamal Kaan
  • Katherine Soper
  • Lisa Keogh
  • Lori King
  • Oonagh Kearney
  • Rachel Smith
  • Somalia Seaton
  • Stef Smith

Drama Room 2016

Our first Drama Room development group began in the summer of 2016 and ran for six months. There were 14 writers on the scheme.

Latest opportunities

  • The University of Southampton - Green Stories

    The University of Southampton - Green Stories

    Deadline: Various deadlines. Green Stories Writing Competitions are a free set of competitions with prizes, open to all, looking for radio plays (deadline 12/7/2019), film screenplay (deadline Sept 2019) and TV series/drama (deadline Nov 2019). Writers are asked to write stories that present positive visions of what a sustainable society might look like, or integrate green characters, policies, solutions etc. in the backdrop of an otherwise mainstream story.

  • The Questors Theatre - Powerplay

    The Questors Theatre - Powerplay

    Deadline: 31st October 2019. Powerplay is the theme for the next evening of short plays at The Questors Theatre, Ealing, London. They are looking for 15 minute plays that explore the theme and can be easily staged.

  • The Delta Collective - Festive New Writing Night

    The Delta Collective - Festive New Writing Night

    Deadline: 31st October 2019. Submissions are open for The Delta Collective's festive new writing night which will take place in early December in London. The night is in aid of charity and food bank collections. They are looking for under 10 minute pieces with a maximum of 4 characters on the theme 'December'. Also open to songs, poetry, stand-up, spoken-word and for actors.

View all opportunities

Latest scripts

View all scripts

Follow @BBCWritersroom on Twitter