Comedy Room

The guidance, exposure, support and inspiration BBC Writersroom has offered so far has been nothing short of fantastic. The sandwiches on the other hand have been quite variable...Mat Rees, (Comedy Room 2015)

BBC Writersroom's Comedy Room is a six-month development scheme for writers identified through our open submission script room and other talent searches.

There are normally between 15 and 20 writers or writing pairs on the Comedy Room.  They usually meet once a month and receive targeted training and development including workshops (with practical writing exercises), masterclasses, introductions and networking events, and writing briefs with the opportunity to pitch.

The aim of the scheme is to encourage and develop the best in new comedy writing and to give these writers the opportunity to build strong connections with producers and help them gain BBC broadcast commissions.

Latest from the Comedy Room

We received 2632 scripts in our last open submission Comedy Script Room window which closed in April 2018. Following the reading process the Comedy Room group 2018 met for their first session in September. They have since had sessions on TV comedy, Children’s and Radio Comedy.


Comedy Room 2018

The 15 writers in our Comedy Room group for 2018 (including writing pairs) are:

  • Jeffrey Aidoo
  • John & Dominic Reynolds
  • Willow Mirza
  • Omar Parvaz
  • Emma Levin
  • Sonia Jalaly
  • Mark Salmon
  • Carol Walsh
  • Sion Edwards
  • Alys Metcalf & Roxy Dunn
  • Lynda Kennedy
  • Chris Cantrill & Amy Gledhill

Comedy Room 2017

Comedy Room 2017

The 14 writers are: 

The 2017 Comedy Room group met for their first session in September 2017. October's session concentrated on sitcom (including analysing an episode of Not Going Out) and November's focus was CBBC and CBeebies. In January 2018 they had a session including advice on writing for digital platforms and pitched ideas for Valentine's Day sketches on the BBC's social media platforms (3 of which were made - watch now). They met for their last session in February 2018 and went on to have script-editing support on their sitcom scripts.

Comedy Room 2016

The Comedy Room 2016 writers with Andrew Ellard (l)

Comedy Room 2016

The 18 writers are:

Our second Comedy Room scheme, Comedy Room 2016, kicked off in November 2016 with 2 days of workshops including a meet and greet, a joke workshop, a session on writing great openings and a day of advice from comedy script guru Andrew Ellard (scriptwriter and script editor for shows including the IT Crowd, Miranda, Red Dwarf and Count Arthur Strong).

Subsequent sessions included a day in Salford on writing for Children's TV with guest speakers from both CBeebies and CBBC and kids' shows Danger Mouse, the 4 o'clock club, Class Dismissed and Diddy TV. In February 2017 we turned to writing for Radio with advice from commissioners, producers and writers from shows including Cabin Pressure and Newsjack and two specific briefs from BBC One snapchat and BBC Music Day monologues.

The fourth session covered sitcom and online with speakers including Paul Kerensa (co-writer of Not Going Out) and Lilah Vandenburgh (Uncle).

Comedy Room 2015

Our first Comedy Room group began in October 2015 following our open submission comedy script window earlier in the year.  There were 17 writers on the scheme including two writing pairs:

  • Christine Robertson
  • Paul Parncutt
  • Laurence Tratalos
  • Tez Ilyas
  • Ryan Grant
  • Sally Stott
  • Lolly Adefope
  • Samuel de Ceccatty & Stuart Benson
  • Mat Rees & Joanne Lau
  • Michael Beck
  • Lee Coan
  • Shai Hussain
  • Shazad Mohammed
  • Patrick Coyle
  • Tracy Brabin

Latest opportunities

  • Bruntwood Prize

    Bruntwood Prize

    Deadline: 5th June 2019 at 6pm. The Prize is an opportunity for writers of any background and experience to enter unperformed plays to be judged by a panel of industry experts for a chance to win part of a prize fund totalling £40,000.

  • Glasgow Caledonian University MA TV Fiction Writing Scholarships

    Glasgow Caledonian University MA TV Fiction Writing Scholarships

    Deadline: 1st June 2019. Six scholarship places are available for the 2019/20 MA in TV Fiction Writing at Glasgow Caledonian University, one for a Gaelic speaker. The scholarships are provided by industry partners including BBC Scotland and MG Alba.

  • Thousand Films  - TV Script competition for women

    Thousand Films - TV Script competition for women

    Deadline: 30th April 2019. Thousand Films and Sid Gentle Films are looking for the best undiscovered television writers in the UK and Ireland. The focus of the first year's competition is to find female writers for television.

View all opportunities

Latest scripts

View all scripts

Follow @BBCWritersroom on Twitter