Related site: 2015 portal  
Millennium Development Goals
Introduction to the millennium development goals

Introduction: Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)


In September 2000, the Millennium Declaration was ratified by 189 heads of state at the United Nations Millennium Summit.

The Declaration outlines eight broad goals. Within these are eighteen targets - most set for 2015 using 1990 as a benchmark - and forty-eight indicators.

These Millennium Development Goals represent a global commitment by all nations who signed the Declaration to reduce poverty and improve lives.

Our guide

In this guide, the eight goals are brought to life by stories from individuals and communities from around the world, as well as some of the initiatives they have launched.

Their personal accounts highlight the specific issues raised by the Millennium Development Goals.

We plan to follow up on these stories until 2015 - to witness the challenges and successes these people face.

The Millennium Development Goals are:

Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
Goal 4: Reduce child mortality
Goal 5: Improve maternal health
Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases
Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
Goal 8: Develop a global partnership for development
^^ Back to top Back to 2015 portal >>Back to MDG website >>