The Peth

Last updated: 08 July 2009

A supergroup of sorts, The Peth was formed in 2006 by Super Furry Animals' drummer Dafydd Ieuan, their bassist Guto Pryce, and actor Rhys Ifans. Ifans, you may recall, was a one-time member of SFA back in the day.

Read about The Peth on BBC Cymru (Welsh language)

The Peth translates as 'the thing'. The other members of the group include Dic Ben (Psycho VII, who released a single on SFA's Placid Casual label), Kris Jenkins (SFA percussionist), and Mick Hilton (who doesn't appear to have a connection to SFA, but there's always time).

Read the full Peth biography.

Artist search

Browse the BBC Wales Music database.

BBC Music

Rock guitarist

Rock and indie

All the latest rock and indie highlights from BBC Music.


Image: Kimberley Noi

Join our group

Showcase your Welsh music images on our Flickr group.


Gruff Rhys


A-Z of Welsh language artists with biogs, sessions, reviews and gigs.

Festivals and events



Get all the lowdown on some of Wales' key festivals and events.

How to...

Crowd at a gig

Go to the show

Our guide to where to find gigs and concerts in your area.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.