Catherine Fisher

Black and white image of Catherine Fisher

Last updated: 16 October 2009

Catherine Fisher is well known for her fantasy novels for children such as The Snow-Walker and Oracle trilogies, and her award-winning poetry collections.

Fisher was born in Newport, south Wales in 1957 and studied English at the University of Wales. She previously worked as a primary school teacher and as an archaeologist.

In 1989 she won the Welsh Arts Council Young Writers' Prize for her volume of poetry Immrama. That year also saw her win the Cardiff International Poetry Competition.

Her initial novel, The Conjuror's Game (1990), was shortlisted for the Smarties Book Prize and The Snow-Walker's Son made the shortlist for the 1993 WH Smith Award.

She won the Tir na n'Og Prize for The Candleman in 1995 and in 2003 she was shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book Award for The Oracle.

In the autumn of 2009 Fisher was involved in the Celtic Myths project for the BBC Wales History website, and wrote the story Becoming Merlin.

Selected bibliography


  • The Conjuror's Game (1990)
  • The Snow-Walker trilogy (1993-96)
  • The Book of the Crow quartet (1998-2001)
  • The Candleman (1994)
  • The Lammas Field (1999)
  • Darkhenge (2005)
  • The Oracle trilogy (2003-05)
  • Incarceron (2007)
  • Sapphique (2008)
  • The Pickpocket's Ghost (2008)


  • Immrama (1988)
  • The Unexplored Ocean (1994)
  • Altered States (1999)
  • Folklore (2003)

BBC Radio 4

Pages from an open book

Open Book

The best new books, interviews and lost masterpieces.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.