Figurenotes arrangements

Figurenotes is a simple, progressive way to learn to read and play music. Drake Music Scotland have arranged the following pieces, especially for Ten Pieces. This notation was initially designed to enable people with additional support needs, but has proven useful for all beginners on a huge range of instruments.

Each musical note has a colour (e.g. all the Cs are red) and each octave has a shape (e.g. middle C is a red circle).

Rhythm is literal and needs little explanation.

You can progress through three simple stages to reach standard notation, never letting the challenges of note-reading interrupt your progression on your instrument.

There are no 'dots and squiggles' to be learned, just two simple concepts:

  • MATCHING: Find the matching shape on your instrument and play it.
  • PLAYING IN PULSE: Try and play the same note with a steady beat.

Download and print this comprehensive guide to Figurenotes for a detailed explanation of how the system works.

You can find out more on the Figurenotes website.

Figurenotes arrangements

Ten Pieces Figurenotes Arrangements

These resources can be played on a range of instruments.

Check the key and pitch before printing.

Visit the Figurenotes website for editable versions of these resources.

Johannes Brahms – Hungarian Dance No. 5 in G minor
Delia Derbyshire – Doctor Who Theme (original theme by Ron Grainer)


Steve Reich – Music for 18 Musicians (excerpt)
Hans Zimmer – Earth


Copland: Rodeo – Hoe-Down

Purcell: Abdelazer – Rondeau

Purcell: Abdelazer – Rondeau

Elgar: 'Enigma' Variations – Theme

Sibelius: Finlandia

Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, 'From the New World’ – Largo

Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker – Russian Dance

Orff: 'O fortuna'

Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker – Waltz of the Flowers

Beethoven - Symphony No. 5 (1st movement)

Bernstein - 'Mambo' from Symphonic Dances from 'West Side Story'

Bizet - 'Habanera' and 'Toreador' from 'Carmen Suite No. 2'

Grieg - In the Hall of the Mountain King

Holst - Mars from The Planets

Mozart - Horn Concerto No. 4 (3rd movement)

Mussorgsky - A Night on the Bare Mountain

Vaughan Williams - Lark Ascending