England: North West Champions

Ten Pieces Champions are Music Education Hubs, Music Services, orchestras, film, dance and other arts organisations from across the UK working in collaboration with the BBC to introduce classical music to the next generation.

They have signed up to champion the project and work together on delivering music and arts education to every young person throughout the nations and regions.

There are more than 260 Champions supporting the project locally.

How you can get involved

Here you will find contacts for your local Champions who can help you get inspired.

If you're an educator working with students aged between 7-14 and want to get started working with the Ten Pieces then look no further.

If you're an educator looking for musical CPD training, get in touch and we'll recommend a contact in your area.

Specialist and non-specialist teachers alike can get involved as there are a wide variety of Champions all over the UK ready and waiting to support the work that you do in and out of the classroom.

We're delighted to have so many organisations coming up with great ideas to motivate young people to use Ten Pieces with your students aged 7-14.

If you would like to become a Ten Pieces Champion, please email TenPieces@bbc.co.uk for an application form.

What do Champions do?

Champions work in schools and local communities to build on the children’s interest and excitement stimulated by the introductory Ten Pieces film.

Many music and arts organisations have been introducing Ten Pieces into their educational activities and supporting schools to get creative with classical music.

Here’s how the Champions support the project:

• Facilitate special free screenings of the spectacular Ten Pieces film in art venues (free DVD and screening form available on request)

• Train teachers how to develop creative and composition work

• Create music-making workshops for schools inspired by one or all of the Ten Pieces

• Use the repertoire as a stimulus for whole class instrument tuition and singing sessions

• Make Ten Pieces the focus of ensemble work (vocal and orchestral)

• Work with school orchestras to perform Ten Pieces concerts and introducing children to orchestral instruments

• Link Local art, film and dance organisations with schools to create a Ten Pieces themed project or event

• Organise amateur and professional orchestra concerts featuring Ten Pieces to provide a live experience for children

You can also find out more about some of the events and activities Champions are hosting by reading the Champions Blog.

England: North West

Accent Music Education Hub Warrington

  • Contact: Janice Pounds (Arts Advisor)
  • Email: jpounds@warrington.gov.uk

Blackburn with Darwen Music Education Hub

  • Contact: Angela Ball (Deputy Hub Leader)
  • Email: angela.ball@bolton.gov.uk

Blackpool Music Education Hub

  • Contact: Andrew White (Music Adviser and Head of Service)
  • Email: andrew.white@blackpool.gov.uk

Bolton Music Service

  • Contact: Stuart Hazelton (Assistant Head of Service and Hub leader)
  • Email: Stuart.Hazelton@bolton.gov.uk

Bridgewater Hall Manchester

  • Contact: Paula Wilson (Learning and Participation Manager)
  • Email: paula.wilson@bridgewater-hall.co.uk

Brighter Sound Manchester

  • Contact: Tim Chatterton (Creative Learning Manager)
  • Email: tim@brightersound.com

Bury Music Service

  • Contact: Gemma Price (Head of Service)
  • Email: gemma.price@burymusic.co.uk

Cumbria Music Education Hub

  • Contact: Simon Yeo (Manager of Cumbria Music Service)
  • Email: cumbriamusicservice@cumbria.gov.uk

Curious Minds (regional Bridge Organisation)

  • Contact: Louise Hesketh (Partnership and Place Manager)
  • Email: louise.hesketh@curiousminds.org.uk

Drake Music (North West)

  • Contact: Tom McGrath (Programme Manager)
  • Email: tommcgrath@drakemusic.org

Hallé Orchestra

  • Contact: Steve Pickett (Education Director)
  • Email: steve.pickett@halle.co.uk

Knowsley Music Education Hub

  • Contact: Denise Ireland (Head of Music and Performing Arts)
  • Email: Denise.Ireland@knowsley.gov.uk

Lancashire Music Service

  • Contact: Ben Rapp (Regional Manager)
  • Email: ben.rapp@lancashire.gov.uk

Liverpool Music Education Hub 'Resonate'

  • Contact: Mel Burton (Deputy Head of Service)
  • Email: burtonm@notredame.liverpool.sch.uk

Love Music Trust Sandbach / Cheshire East

  • Contact: Iain McKnight (Assistant Director)
  • Email: imcknight@lovemusictrust.com

Manchester Camerata

  • Contact: Lucy Geddes (Head of Learning and Participation)
  • Email: lgeddes@manchestercamerata.com

Manchester Central Library - Henry Watson Music Library

  • Contact: Ros Edwards (Service Development Co-ordinator Henry Watson Music library)
  • Email: r.edwards@manchester.gov.uk

Merseyside Dance Initiative

  • Contact: Rachel Rogers (Project Development manager)
  • Email: rachel@mdi.org.uk

More Music working throughout Lancashire and the North West

  • Contact: Darren Leadsom (Music Inclusion and Education Manager)
  • Email: Darren.leadsom@moremusic.org.uk

Oldham Music Service

  • Contact: Elizabeth Brocklehurst (Subject Leader Curriculum Music)
  • Email: Elizabeth.Brocklehurst@oldham.gov.uk

One Education/Manchester Youth Music Hub

  • Contact: Lindsay Thomas (Head of Service)
  • Email: lindsay.thomas@oneeducation.co.uk

QLP Partners, Cheshire West and Chester

  • Contact: Cate Madden (Deputy Director of Music Service, Primary Music Adviser)
  • Email: Cate.Madden@cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk

Rochdale Music Service

  • Contact: Liz Jacobs (Project Manager)
  • Email: liz.jacobs@rochdale.gov.uk

Rosehill Theatre Cumbria

  • Contact: Anne Timpson (Manager- Audience Development and Participation)
  • Email: anne.timpson@rosehilltheatre.co.uk

Salford Mapas

  • Contact: Richard Milton (Head of Service)
  • Email: mapas@scll.co.uk

Sefton Music Education Hub

  • Contact: Chris Lennie (Hub Lead and Head of Music Service)
  • Email: chris.lennie@sefton.gov.uk

St. Helens Council Arts Service

  • Contact: Jeremy Sleith (Head of Service)
  • Email: jeremysleith@sthelens.gov.uk

Stockport Music Service

  • Contact: Craig Eastwood (Head of Music Service)
  • Email: craig.eastwood@stockport.gov.uk

Tameside Council Cultural Services

  • Contact: Tracy Webster (Education Manager Cultural Services)
  • Email: tracy.webster@tameside.gov.uk

Tameside Music Service

  • Contact: Chris Jolly (Head of Service)
  • Email: christopher.jolly@tameside.gov.uk

The British & International Federation of Festivals for Music, Dance and Speech

  • Contact: Claire Lloyd (General Manager)
  • Email: claire@federationoffestivals.org.uk

Trafford Music Service

  • Contact: Kate Shipway (Vocal Tutor)
  • Email: music.service@trafford.gov.uk

Wigan Music Service

  • Contact: Carmel Loughney (Curriculum Leader)
  • Email: musicserviceenquiries@wigan.gov.uk