England: South East Champions

Ten Pieces Champions are Music Education Hubs, Music Services, orchestras, film, dance and other arts organisations from across the UK working in collaboration with the BBC to introduce classical music to the next generation.

They have signed up to champion the project and work together on delivering music and arts education to every young person throughout the nations and regions.

There are more than 260 Champions supporting the project locally.

How you can get involved

Here you will find contacts for your local Champions who can help you get inspired.

If you're an educator working with students aged between 7-14 and want to get started working with the Ten Pieces then look no further.

If you're an educator looking for musical CPD training, get in touch and we'll recommend a contact in your area.

Specialist and non-specialist teachers alike can get involved as there are a wide variety of Champions all over the UK ready and waiting to support the work that you do in and out of the classroom.

We're delighted to have so many organisations coming up with great ideas to motivate young people to use Ten Pieces with your students aged 7-14.

If you would like to become a Ten Pieces Champion, please email TenPieces@bbc.co.uk for an application form.

What do Champions do?

Champions work in schools and local communities to build on the children’s interest and excitement stimulated by the introductory Ten Pieces film.

Many music and arts organisations have been introducing Ten Pieces into their educational activities and supporting schools to get creative with classical music.

Here’s how the Champions support the project:

• Facilitate special free screenings of the spectacular Ten Pieces film in art venues (free DVD and screening form available on request)

• Train teachers how to develop creative and composition work

• Create music-making workshops for schools inspired by one or all of the Ten Pieces

• Use the repertoire as a stimulus for whole class instrument tuition and singing sessions

• Make Ten Pieces the focus of ensemble work (vocal and orchestral)

• Work with school orchestras to perform Ten Pieces concerts and introducing children to orchestral instruments

• Link Local art, film and dance organisations with schools to create a Ten Pieces themed project or event

• Organise amateur and professional orchestra concerts featuring Ten Pieces to provide a live experience for children

You can also find out more about some of the events and activities Champions are hosting by reading the Champions Blog.

England: South East

Artswork Bridge organisation for the South East

  • Contact: Abi Barrington (Communications Officer)
  • Email: abi@artswork.org.uk

Berkshire Maestros

  • Contact: Lynne Ellis (CEO)
  • Email: lynneellis@berkshiremaestros.org.uk

Brighton and Hove - Sound City

  • Contact: Mike Johnson (Instrumental and Vocal Programmes Manager)
  • Email: mike.johnson@brightondome.org

Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Contact: Catherine Stead (General Administrator)
  • Email: catherinestead@brightonphil.org.uk

East Sussex Music Education Hub

  • Contact: Jane Humberstone (Curriculum Development Manager)
  • Email: Jane.humberstone@eastsussex.gov.uk

Ensemble Reza Sussex and across the South East

  • Contact: Hannah Carter (Managing Director)
  • Email: hannah.carter@ensemblereza.com

Isle of Wight Music Education Hub

  • Contact: Zoe Hunting (Lead)
  • Email: zoe.hunting@iowmusichub.org

Kent Music

  • Contact: Carrie Baines (Education Manager, Schools)
  • Email: cbaines@kent-music.com

Kent Music regional contacts:

Ashford & Swale:

  • Contact: Lucy Duff (Area Manager)
  • Email: lduff@kent-music.com

Folkestone & Hythe and Dover:

  • Contact: Mark Mortimer (Area Manager)
  • Email: mmortimer@kent-music.com

Maidstone and Malling:

  • Contact: Sami Mason (Area Manager)
  • Email: smason@kent-music.com

Canterbury and Thanet:

  • Contact: Richard Davies (Area Manager)
  • Email: rdavies@kent-music.com

Dartford and Gravesham:

  • Contact: Simon Grimes (Area Manager)
  • Email: sgrimes@kent-music.com

Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells and Sevenoaks:

  • Contact: Steph Godwin (Area Manager)
  • Email: sgodwin@kent-music.com

Kidenza Classic concert for kids

  • Contact: Claire Lambert (MD)
  • Email: info@kidenza.co.uk

Musicate - The Buckinghamshire, Milton Keynes and Slough Music Education Hub Alliance

  • Contact: Glyn Murphy (Curriculum Manager)
  • Email: glyn.murphy@beechwood.slough.sch.uk

Oxfordshire County Music Service

  • Contact: Jonathan Cox (Senior Manager)
  • Email: Jonathan.Cox2@Oxfordshire.gov.uk

Revelation St Mary's music and arts venue Ashford

  • Contact: Matthew Sharp (Creative Director)
  • Email: manager@revelationashford.co.uk

Roman River Music Festival concerts, Essex

  • Email: info@romanrivermusic.org.uk

Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra

  • Contact: Yvonne Smith (Education Outreach Officer)
  • Email: education@rtwso.org

Surrey Music Hub

  • Contact: Alex Bondonno (Teaching and learning manager)
  • Email: alex.bondonno@surreycc.gov.uk

University of Surrey

  • Contact: Pippa Cleary (Arts Manager)
  • Email: p.cleary@gsa.surrey.ac.uk

Wantage Orchestra Oxfordshire

  • Contact: Christopher Fletcher-Campbell (Conductor)
  • Email: cfc47@btinternet.com

West Sussex Music

  • Contact: Alison Sutton (Assistant Head)
  • Email: alison.sutton@westsussexmusic.co.uk