Scotland Champions

Ten Pieces Champions are Music Education Hubs, Music Services, orchestras, film, dance and other arts organisations from across the UK working in collaboration with the BBC to introduce classical music to the next generation.

They have signed up to champion the project and work together on delivering music and arts education to every young person throughout the nations and regions.

There are more than 260 Champions supporting the project locally.

How you can get involved

Here you will find contacts for your local Champions who can help you get inspired.

If you're an educator working with students aged between 7-14 and want to get started working with the Ten Pieces then look no further.

If you're an educator looking for musical CPD training, get in touch and we'll recommend a contact in your area.

Specialist and non-specialist teachers alike can get involved as there are a wide variety of Champions all over the UK ready and waiting to support the work that you do in and out of the classroom.

We're delighted to have so many organisations coming up with great ideas to motivate young people to use Ten Pieces with your students aged 7-14.

If you would like to become a Ten Pieces Champion, please email TenPieces@bbc.co.uk for an application form.

What do Champions do?

Champions work in schools and local communities to build on the children’s interest and excitement stimulated by the introductory Ten Pieces film.

Many music and arts organisations have been introducing Ten Pieces into their educational activities and supporting schools to get creative with classical music.

Here’s how the Champions support the project:

• Facilitate special free screenings of the spectacular Ten Pieces film in art venues (free DVD and screening form available on request)

• Train teachers how to develop creative and composition work

• Create music-making workshops for schools inspired by one or all of the Ten Pieces

• Use the repertoire as a stimulus for whole class instrument tuition and singing sessions

• Make Ten Pieces the focus of ensemble work (vocal and orchestral)

• Work with school orchestras to perform Ten Pieces concerts and introducing children to orchestral instruments

• Link Local art, film and dance organisations with schools to create a Ten Pieces themed project or event

• Organise amateur and professional orchestra concerts featuring Ten Pieces to provide a live experience for children

You can also find out more about some of the events and activities Champions are hosting by reading the Champions Blog.

Scotland

Argyll and Bute Council

  • Contact: Kathryn Wilkie (YMI Lead Contact)
  • Email: kathryn.wilkie@argyll-bute.gov.uk

ATLAS Arts Skye and Lochalsh

  • Contact: Shona Cameron (Producer)
  • Email: shona@atlasarts.org.uk

Big Noise Raploch Stirling

  • Contact: Peter Nicholson (Team Leader)
  • Email: peter.nicholson@sistemascotland.org.uk

Children's Classic Concerts

  • Contact: Pippa Barnwell (Company Manager)
  • Email: pippa@childrensclassicconcerts.co.uk

City of Edinburgh Council

  • Contact: Martin Hutchison (Youth Music Initiative Coordinator)
  • Email: Martin.hutchison@edinburgh.gov.uk

Dance House Glasgow

  • Contact: Lottie Barker (Programme Co-ordinator)
  • Email: Lottie@dancehouse.org

Drake Music Scotland

  • Contact: Emma Lines (Programme Manager)
  • Email: emmalines@drakemusicscotland.org

Dumfries and Galloway Council

  • Contact: Kathleen Picken (Primary Music Development Officer)
  • Email: Kathleen.picken@dumgal.gov.uk

East Ayrshire Council

  • Contact: Julie Carrie (YMI Coordinator)
  • Email: julie.carrie@east-ayrshire.gov.uk

East Renfrewshire Council

  • Contact: Linda Fenn (Co ordinator – Music Centre and Instrumental Music Service)
  • Email: fennl@ea.e-renfrew.sch.uk

Edinburgh College

  • Contact: Hilary Saunders (Curriculum Manager, Music and Sound Production)
  • Email: Hilary.saunders@edinburghcollege.ac.uk

Edinburgh University Music Society

  • Contact: Amanda MacLeod (President)
  • Email: president@eums.org.uk

Falkirk Council

  • Contact: Gayle Martin (Cultural Coordinator)
  • Email: gayle.martin@falkirk.gov.uk

Glasgow CREATE

  • Contact: Pamela Black (Education Officer for Instrumental Music)
  • Email: Pamela.Black@education.glasgow.gov.uk

Kircaldy Orchestral Society, Fife's Community Orchestra

  • Contact: Graeme Wilson (Music Director and Conductor)
  • Email: wilsongraeme@blueyonder.co.uk

Live Music Now Scotland

  • Contact: Carol Main (Director)
  • Email: carol.main@livemusicnow.org

Midlothian Council

  • Contact: Joanne Thomson (Dance Development Officer)
  • Email: joanne.thomson@midlothian.gov.uk

National Youth Orchestras of Scotland

  • Contact: Amy Cutler (Orchestral Ensembles Manager)
  • Email: amycutler@nyos.co.uk

North Ayrshire Council

  • Contact: Mae Murray (Music Service Co-ordinator)
  • Email: gw09murraymary4@ea.n-ayrshire.sch.uk

Perth and Kinross Council

  • Contact: Fiona Ballantine (PT Expressive Arts)
  • Email: faballantine@pkc.gov.uk

Renfrewshire Arts and Museums

  • Contact: Christine Martin
  • Email: christine.martin@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Renfrewshire Council

  • Contact: James Cunningham (Music Co-ordinator)
  • Email: james.cunningham@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland Glasgow

  • Contact: Kirsten Hunter (Artistic Planning Manger)
  • Email: k.hunter@rcs.ac.uk

Scottish Association for Music Education (SAME)

  • Contact: Graeme Wilson (Secretary)
  • Email: graemewilson2010@gmail.com

Scottish Borders Council

  • Contact: Catherine Thomson (Senior Lead Officer Expressive Arts)
  • Email: catherine.thomson@scotborders.gov.uk

Shetland Community Orchestra

  • Contact: Sioban Tekcan (School/Orchestra liaison)
  • Email: siobantekcan@ymail.com

South Ayrshire Council

  • Contact: Shonagh Stevenson (PT of Instrumental Services)
  • Email: shonagh.stevenson@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

University of Aberdeen

  • Contact: Pauline Black (Programme Director)
  • Email: paulineblack@abdn.ac.uk

WHALE Arts Edinburgh

  • Contact: Kate Griffin (Arts Development Officer)
  • Email: info@whalearts.co.uk