Religious Studies KS1: The Five Pillars of Islam

Part of a series of animated films teaching pupils about religions of the world.

This film focuses on Islam, and follows Amina as she explains the Five Pillars of Islam (Shahadah, Salah, Zakah, Sawm and Hajj) to her little brother Rahib.

The film is bright and colourful and immerses pupils in the story through a clear, friendly narrative.

This clip is from the series Religions of the World.

Teacher Notes

This could be used to show pupils a picture of a pillar and discuss how it makes a building strong.

Discuss how the 5 pillars of Islam are 5 things Muslims do to keep their faith strong.

They could discuss the things we have in our life that keep us strong or teach us the right thing to do.

Pupils could design and write a postcard from Mecca and make or draw a prayer mat.

Curriculum Notes

This short film will be relevant for teaching KS1 religious education in England and Northern Ireland, Foundation Phase in Wales, and Early and 1st Level Religious and Moral Education in Scotland.

More from Religions of the World:

The Buddhist Story of Siddhartha and the Swan and The Monkey King
The Christian Story of the First Christmas
The Christian Story of the Good Samaritan and the Lost Sheep
The Christian Story of Easter
The Hindu Story of Rama and Sita
The Islamic Story of The Prophet and the Ants and 'The Crying Camel'
The Jewish Story of Moses
The Jewish Story of Hanukkah
Sikh Stories