Religious Studies KS2: What is Islam?

Eleven-year-old Sara gives a brief guide to her religion by describing the Five Pillars of Islam, the main rules Muslims try to live by.

The Five Pillars are declaring your faith in God, prayer, charity, fasting during Ramadan and going on pilgrimage to Mecca (also known as Makkah).

In the BAFTA-winning BBC programme "My Life, My Religion: Islam", British Muslim children explain the beliefs and rituals of their faith.

This is from the series: My Life, My Religion: Islam.

Teacher Notes

Ask pupils in teams of five (one pupil for each Pillar) to create a page with between 6 and 12 facts on it about each of the Pillars.

They can use the clip as the basis for this, gathering further information from other resources - including Muslim people they know if possible.

Turn these information sheets into questions and run an inter-team quiz about the 5 Pillars around your class.

Curriculum Notes

These clips will be relevant for teaching Religious Education at KS2 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland and First and Second Level in Scotland.

The Qur'an
The Mosque
Being a young Muslim
The Muslim pilgrimage, Hajj
Prayer in Islam
The washing ritual, 'Wudu'
Ramadan and Eid ul Fitr
The Hijab