PSHE KS3/4: What is domestic violence?

Rhiannon Sawyer, a Gang and Sexual Violence Prevention Worker, describes six different types of abuse and their characteristics.

These are physical, emotional, psychological, financial and sexual.

This clip is from the series Beaten By My Boyfriend.

Teacher Notes

Older students could design a lesson, a short play, or an information leaflet to inform younger students about domestic abuse.

They should cover each of the six types of domestic abuse on the clip.

Encourage them to try to illustrate where the boundary lies between someone being nice and someone being controlling and abusive.

Alternatively, teachers could divide the class into six groups and give each group a different type of domestic abuse to work on. Students could share their work with the rest of the class.

Curriculum notes

This short film meets and extends curriculum requirements for financial literacy at:

  • Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4 in England (Citizenship and Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education)
  • Wales (Mathematical Development and Personal and Social Education)
  • Northern Ireland (Mathematics and Numeracy and Learning For Life and Work)
  • Third and Fourth Level and the Senior Phase in Scotland (Mathematics and Numeracy, Social Studies and Learning, Life and Work).

More from Beaten By My Boyfriend

Discussing abuse in relationships
Surviving abuse - Danni's story
Surviving abuse - Louise's story
Surviving abuse - Sarah's story