World Men's Curling Championship: Scotland take home bronze medals

Scotland took bronze with a comfortable 11-4 win over South Korea at the World Men's Curling Championship in Las Vegas as Sweden beat Canada in the final.

Niklas Edin's Swedes gained revenge for last year's final defeat, winning 7-3.

Having lost out to Brad Gushue's holders in their semi-final, the Scots, led by skip Bruce Mouat, stole four in a decisive fifth end to lead 10-2.

"We really stuck in after a tough loss yesterday, so it feels really good to come away with a medal," said Mouat.

"This is really special for me, to join other Scottish medallists is class."

Mouat, 23, was joined on the podium at the Orleans Arena by third Grant Hardie, second Bobby Lammie, lead Hammy McMillan Jr and alternate Ross Paterson.

McMillan Jr is the only member of the rink with prior World Championship experience.

It is Scotland's first medal at this level since David Murdoch, coaching this time round, led his side to a third place finish in 2013.

"I'm really proud of my team," added Mouat.

"Last night's loss was difficult to take but we knew we had a good chance for a medal. For my first world championship I'm happy with a bronze."

The Swedes, silver medallists at this year's Winter Olympics, and Scots had qualified directly for the semi-final after topping the round robin with a record of 11 wins and one defeat, while Canada and South Korea had to win play-offs.

However, although the Scots had beaten the Canadians in their opening match of the round-robin, it was Gushue's rink that came out on top in the semi-final, 9-5, to set up a repeat of last year's final.

Edin said: "World champion - sounds amazing to me and we've got a couple of guys who haven't won it before, it's just amazing.

"For the team to really be on top after the Olympic loss and losing the world final last year is great.

"We played good all week and I'm just thrilled to have won a worlds again.

"This week has been the most exhausting week I can remember."



Qualification games: South Korea 7-5 Norway; Canada 6-4 United States.

Semi-finals: Sweden 9-8 South Korea; Scotland 5-9 Canada.

Bronze medal game: Scotland 11-4 South Korea

Final: Sweden 7-3 Canada

Final round-robin standings

1 Sweden (Niklas Edin) 11-1 Q

2 Scotland (Bruce Mouat) 11-1 Q

3 Canada (Brad Gushue) 9-3 Q

4 South Korea (ChangMin Kim) 7-5 Q

5 Norway (Steffen Walstad) 7-5 Q

6 United States (Rich Ruohonen) 6-6 Q

7 Switzerland (Marc Pfister) 6-6

8 Italy (Joel Retornaz) 5-7

9 Russia (Alexey Timofeev) 5-7

10 Netherlands (Jaap van Dorp) 4-8

11 Japan (Masaki Iwai) 3-9

12 China (Dejia Zou) 3-9

13 Germany (Alexander Baumann) 1-11

Top Stories