BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2019: Alun Wyn Jones wins award

BBC Wales Sports Personality 2019: Alun Wyn Jones honoured by 'massive' award

Wales men's rugby union captain Alun Wyn Jones is the BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year for 2019.

This year the 34-year-old captained Wales to Grand Slam success and was named Six Nations player of the tournament, with the second row also leading Wales to the World Cup semi-finals in Japan.

During 2019 Jones became Wales' record cap-holder and has now won 134 for his country, plus nine for the British and Irish Lions.

"To have the recognition of being nominated was more than enough in such a quality field of fellow competitors," Jones said.

"It's pretty special not only for me but for my team-mates, my family... it's massive.

"I do feel I should be up here (on stage) with another 30-45 blokes to be honest, as strength in numbers is always good."

Jones has also been shortlisted for the BBC network 2019 UK Sports Personality of the Year award.

Shot putter Sabrina Fortune was second having won her first world title at the 2019 World Para-Athletics Championships, with Jade Jones third after the double Olympic champion secured the first world title of her career with gold at the World Taekwondo Championships.

With Alun Wyn Jones having taken the main award of the evening, it was fitting that the Wales rugby side he captained were named Team of the Year.

Coach of the Year went to Warren Gatland, after he led that Wales side to the Rugby World Cup semi-finals before stepping down after 12 years in charge.

Boxer Joe Calzaghe was presented with the Lifetime Achievement award, celebrating a sparkling undefeated professional career where he reigned as a world champion for more than 11 years.

During his time in the ring Calzaghe won the WBO, WBA, WBC and IBF super-middleweight belts plus The Ring light-heavyweight title.

BBC Wales Sports Personality 2019: Joe Calzaghe dedicates Lifetime award to late father

Canoeist Etienne Chappell won the Carwyn James young sportsman award, with the young sportswoman crown going to wheelchair motocross athlete Lily Rice.

Results of the public vote were revealed at the Wales Sport Awardsexternal-link at the Celtic Manor Resort in Newport on Tuesday night, where BBC Cymru Wales and Sport Walesexternal-link celebrated Welsh sporting success.

Para-athletics javelin thrower Hollie Arnold, cyclist Elinor Barker, Para-alpine skier Menna Fitzpatrick, sailor Hannah Mills and boxer Lauren Price were also on the eight-strong shortlist for BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2019.

BBC Cymru Wales Director Rhodri Talfan Davies said: "Congratulations to everyone who has received an award tonight.

"Sport is such an integral part of the fabric of our communities and it's wonderful to be able to celebrate the athletes and organisers on all levels that make such a contribution to Welsh sport, from the grassroots to the elite."

Cyclist Geraint Thomas took the award in 2018 after his Tour de France triumph, joining a list of winners that includes Welsh sporting greats such as Calzaghe, footballer Gareth Bale, golfer Ian Woosnam and Paralympian Tanni Grey-Thompson.

Other awards which were given on the night included:

Voting for BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2019 opened at 07:30 GMT on Monday, 2 December and closed at 18:00 GMT on Sunday, 8 December.

This event is not connected with the UK Sports Personality of the Year and is for the Wales award only.

Top Stories