Australian Open: Harriet Dart only Briton to advance on day one of qualifying

Harriet Dart
Harriet Dart qualified for the Australian Open in 2019
2020 Australian Open
Venue: Melbourne Park Dates: 20 January to 2 February
Coverage: Listen on BBC Radio 5 Live Sports Extra and online; Live text on selected matches on the BBC Sport website and app.

Harriet Dart was the only Briton to win on the opening day of qualifying for the Australian Open.

Dart, ranked 169, needed just 75 minutes to beat Bulgaria's world number 194 Elitsa Kostova 6-4 6-1.

She will face American 15th seed Nicole Gibbs in the second qualifying round.

There were defeats for Liam Broady, Jay Clarke and Nakitha Bains in Melbourne, where the effect of bushfires on air quality was again a significant concern.

Broady was thrashed 6-3 6-0 by Belarusian Ilya Ivashka while Clarke fell 7-6 (7-2) 3-6 6-2 to Blaz Kavcic of Slovenia.

In the women's competition, Bains lost 6-2 6-2 to Russian Valeria Savinykh.

British world number 217 Samantha Murray Sharan will bid to join Dart in the second round of qualifying when she faces Chinese world number 228 Yue Yuan on Wednesday.

Top Stories