BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2017: Coach award for sprint trio Blomkvist, Malcolm & Maguire

Sports Personality of the Year 2017: Coach of the Year
BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2017
Date: Sunday, 17 December Time: 18:45 GMT Venue: Echo Arena, Liverpool Coverage: BBC One, Radio 5 live, BBC Sport website

Three men behind the success of British sprinters have been jointly named coach of the year at the BBC Sports Personality awards.

Benke Blomkvist, Stephen Maguire and Christian Malcolm helped GB's men's 4x100m team to World Championship gold.

CJ Ujah, Adam Gemili, Danny Talbot and Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake won in London as Jamaica's Usain Bolt pulled up in his final race.

All four of Britain's relay teams won medals at the championships.

The men's 4x100 triumph was Britain's first world sprint relay gold.

"It came together that night, I was afraid to look at the screen but the guys did an unbelievable job," said Maguire, who comes from Strabane in Northern Ireland.

"Massive recognition to their coaches, we get the cream on the cake, but they have done all the work."

GB's team of Asha Philip, Desiree Henry, Dina Asher-Smith and Daryll Neita won silver in the women's 4x100m.

There was another silver in the 4x400m relay for Zoey Clark, Laviai Nielsen, Eilidh Doyle and Emily Diamond.

The men's 4x400m team - Matthew Hudson-Smith, Dwayne Cowan, Rabah Yousif and Martyn Rooney - won bronze.

Blomkvist, Malcolm and Maguire - who helped the women's 4x100m and 4x400m teams to bronze medals at the 2016 Rio Olympics - won the high performance coach of the year prize at the UK Coaching Awards last month.

"It was a memorable summer for the sprint relay team and we look forward to working with them and their coaches as they pursue further success in the coming years," said former sprinter Malcolm, a two-time Olympic 200m finalist.

Recent BBC Coach of the Year winners
2016: Claudio Ranieri (football)2013: Warren Gatland (rugby union)
2015: Michael O'Neill (football)2012: Dave Brailsford (cycling)
2014: Paul McGinley (golf)2011: Andy Flower (cricket)