BBC Sports Personality of the Year: Contenders revealed on Monday

Media playback is not supported on this device

Murray wins Sports Personality of the Year 2015

The contenders for the 2016 BBC Sports Personality of the Year will be announced live on The One Show on BBC One from 19:00 GMT on Monday.

Tennis player Andy Murray won the award last year and in 2013, either side of Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton.

The winner will be revealed on 18 December, with tickets for the event at Birmingham's Genting Arena on sale.

The public will be able to vote for their favourite by phone and online during the live show on the night.

Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan will present the programme from 18:40 GMT on BBC One, with further coverage on BBC Radio 5 live and the BBC Sport website.

The 10 contenders for the Young Sports Personality of the Year were also released on Friday - and the top three will be announced during Blue Peter on 8 December.

"This is an unparalleled era to be competing under the union jack," says BBC chief sports writer Tom Fordyce.

"Sports Personality of the Year? Good luck with whittling it down to the shortlist, let alone choosing your winner."

Top Stories

Get Inspired Activity Finder

Run by the BBC and partners

Find ways to get active near you: