Sports Personality: Britain's Davis Cup winners take BBC award

Media playback is not supported on this device

GB Davis Cup winners take Team of Year

Great Britain's triumphant Davis Cup side won the Team of the Year award at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year show.

Victory over Belgium in November's final saw Britain win the Davis Cup for the first time since 1936.

Captain Leon Smith guided Britain from the third tier to glory in five years.

British number one Andy Murray played a key role, alongside his brother Jamie, Kyle Edmund, James Ward, Dom Inglot and Dan Evans.

Andy Murray, 28, won 11 of 12 points during Britain's successful campaign.

The award was presented by former pentathlete and 1972 Sports Personality of the Year winner Dame Mary Peters, and Republic of Ireland boss Martin O'Neill.

Captain Leon Smith said: "It is hugely humbling, it is very prestigious. It has been 79 years since we last won the Davis Cup, let's hope it doesn't take another 79 years.

"I hope what it has achieved is we get a lasting legacy for tennis."

Murray joins American John McEnroe and Swede Mats Wilander as the only men to have an 8-0 singles record in a Davis Cup year. In the doubles he is only the fourth man to win 11 rubbers in a single year.

My Manchester United XI

How do you think Man Utd should line-up for the 2016/17 season? Pick your XI - and then share it with your friends.

Recent Team of the Year winners
2014: England women's rugby team2013: British & Irish Lions rugby union squad
2012: Great Britain Olympic and Paralympic teams2011: England cricket team
2010: Europe Ryder Cup team2009: England cricket team

Top Stories