BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2014 panel announced

Murray voted Sports Personality 2013

Olympians Rebecca Adlington and Denise Lewis will join Paralympic star Tanni Grey-Thompson and former footballer Jason Roberts on the BBC Sports Personality of the Year panel for 2014.

The panel, which will consist of 12 people in total, will decide the top 10 contenders for the main award, as well as the Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and Overseas Sports Personality.

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year event will be held in Glasgow on Sunday, 14 December at The SSE Hydro in front of an estimated 12,000 crowd.

The show will be broadcast live on BBC One, with the overall winner being voted for by the public on the night of the show.

The other representatives on the panel include newspaper sports editors Mike Dunn (Independent, the i and Evening Standard), Howard Wheatcroft (Express Newspapers head of sport) and Alex Butler (Sunday Times), pan-sports broadcaster/journalist: Alison Mitchell and the chair of SportScotland Louise Martin.

The director of BBC Sport Barbara Slater will also sit on the panel alongside Philip Bernie (Head of TV Sport) and Carl Doran (Executive Editor, BBC Sports Personality of the Year).

The panel will select a shortlist of 10 sportspeople on the basis that it reflects UK sporting achievements on the national and/or international stage, represents the breadth and depth of UK sports, and takes into account 'impact' over and beyond the sport or sporting achievement in question.

Past 10 winners
2013: Andy Murray (tennis)2012: Bradley Wiggins (cycling)
2011: Mark Cavendish (cycling)2010: AP McCoy (horse racing)
2009: Ryan Giggs (football)2008: Sir Chris Hoy (cycling)
2007: Joe Calzaghe (boxing)2006: Zara Phillips (equestrian)
2005: Andrew Flintoff (cricket)2004: Dame Kelly Holmes (athletics)
See the full list of winners

This year has been another busy one for sport with the Winter Olympics, Fifa World Cup, Commonwealth Games and Ryder Cup, as well as annual events such as the Six Nations, Wimbledon and The Open Championship.

The panel for the Young Sports Personality of the Year award has also been announced. BBC Sport's John Inverdale chairs a panel which includes three representatives of Youth Sport Trust, former winner of the award Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, 2013 main award nominee Hannah Cockroft, Blue Peter presenter Lindsey Russell, a Blue Peter competition winner, Radio 1's Tina Daheley and the executive editor of BBC Sports Personality of the Year Carl Doran.

This Young Sports Personality of the Year award will be awarded to the outstanding young sportsperson aged 17 or under on 1 January 2014, selected from nominations made to the BBC and by sports governing bodies via the Youth Sport Trust. Nominations close on 3 November, 2014

The top three will be announced on Blue Peter and invited to the live event at The Hydro in Glasgow. The other top seven contenders will be notified out of courtesy that they have not made the final shortlist.

The winner will be announced live on the BBC Sports Personality of the Year programme and the BBC Sport website on Sunday, 14 December 2014.

Full terms and conditions are available

Tickets for the event will go on sale at the end of October.

Top Stories