BBC Sports Personality of the Year: Leeds show tickets sell out

Bradley Wiggins named BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012

Most tickets have sold out for the 60th BBC Sports Personality of the Year show, in Leeds on 15 December.

The evening will feature more than two hours looking back at the past 12 months, with a range of celebrities and several awards, culminating in the coveted Sports Personality prize.

Thousands of tickets put on sale on Friday were sold within three hours.

A limited number of tickets will be available towards the end of November, once stage plans have been finalised.

Carl Doran, the show's executive editor, said: "The city of Leeds and the venue will provide the perfect backdrop to what will be a celebration of this year's sporting achievements and the men and women who have accomplished so much.

"As ever, there'll be a few surprises along the way as well as some of the biggest names from the sporting world. For those who got tickets or choose to watch on BBC One, it's sure to be an evening to remember."

Hosted by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan, the 2013 Sports Personality of the Year will be broadcast live on BBC One and BBC One HD, with further coverage on Radio 5 live and the BBC Sport website.

Logan was born in Leeds, which is hosting the programme for the first time after recent shows in cities such as London, Birmingham, Liverpool, Sheffield and Salford.

"It is a real coup for Leeds to be hosting such a high-profile and prestigious event and we are thrilled it will showcase the amazing new arena," said Councillor Lucinda Yeadon, a leisure and skills executive board member for Leeds City Council.

"It promises to be a fantastic show featuring some of the biggest sports stars in the world and with our own 'Leeds lass' Gabby Logan being part of the presenting team and we are all really looking forward to a highly memorable night."

Last year's main award went to cyclist Bradley Wiggins, and this year's victor will join an illustrious list of previous winners, which includes Bobby Moore (1966), Daley Thompson (1982) and Sir Steve Redgrave (2000).

This year's sporting highlights have included the Lions tour victory, England's Ashes triumph, Andy Murray winning Wimbledon, Chris Froome's Tour de France win, Ellie Simmonds' triple gold medal haul at the IPC World Swimming Championships, along with Christine Ohuruogu and Mo Farah's gold medals at the World Athletics Championships and Justin Rose claiming the US Open.