BBC Sports Personality: Top stars in running for award

One of the UK's top sports stars will be crowned BBC Sports Personality of the Year at 2200 GMT on Thursday.

Broadcast live from MediaCity in Salford Quays for the first time, the show is live on BBC One.

The public will pick the winner from a shortlist of 10.

The shortlist is: Mark Cavendish, Darren Clarke, Alastair Cook, Luke Donald, Mo Farah, Dai Greene, Amir Khan, Rory McIlroy, Andy Murray and Andrew Strauss.

In addition to the main award of Sports Personality of the Year, won in 2010 by jockey AP McCoy, there will also be awards for: Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Helen Rollason Award, Sports Unsung Hero.

The three contenders for Young Sports Personality of the Year are Lucy Garner, Eleanor Simmonds and Lauren Taylor, while former jockey Bob Champion will be given the Helen Rollason Award for outstanding achievement in the face of adversity.

Olympic rowing legend Sir Steve Redgrave, who won five gold medals at successive Olympics from 1984 to 2000, will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Jake Humphrey, the show will welcome some of the biggest names in world sport to the BBC's new base in the north west.

"BBC Sports Personality of the Year is a show I watched as a kid and it's such an honour to follow in the footsteps of presenters like Des Lynam who I admire greatly," Humphrey said.

"It's also the full-stop to the sporting year and, having seen the names who will be with us on the night, I think it will be a cracking show and I'd rather be hosting it than deciding who should win."

Hailing from four nations of the UK and representing six very different sports, the 10 shortlisted for the evening's main award were put forward by a panel of sports editors from national and regional newspapers and magazines.

Cyclist Cavendish did an amazing double this year. He became Britain's first winner of the Tour de France green jersey - the award for the race's best sprinter - and he also won the world road race, the first British male champion for 46 years to do so.

Cricketers Andrew Strauss and Alastair Cook helped England to Ashes glory and to the top of the world Test rankings, while golfers Darren Clarke and Luke Donald won The Open and became the world's number one player respectively.

Also on the golf course, Rory McIlroy won the US Open by an astonishing eight shots to become the youngest US Open champion since Bobby Jones in 1923, and the youngest major winner since Tiger Woods triumphed at the Masters in 1997.

Athletes Dai Greene and Mo Farah won gold medals in the World Championships in South Korea, while Amir Khan put on a boxing masterclass to knock out Zab Judah in five rounds in their light-welterweight unification fight in Las Vegas in July.

Andy Murray continues to take on the best in the world on the tennis courts, winning five titles, reaching the final of the Australian Open and the semi-finals of the French Open, Wimbledon and US Open.

The public will be able to vote for their BBC Sports Personality of the Year by telephone; details of the numbers to vote on will be given out during the programme.

Top Stories