Welsh Open 2021: Shaun Murphy and Judd Trump reach second round

welsh open
The Ray Reardon Trophy and £70,000 is awarded to the winner of the 2021 Welsh Open
The 2021 BetVictor Welsh Open
Dates: 15-21 February Venue: Celtic Manor Resort, Newport
Coverage: Watch live on BBC Two Wales, BBC iPlayer, BBC Red Button, BBC Sport website and the BBC Sport app. Highlights on BBC Two Wales, online and the BBC Red Button.

Defending champion Shaun Murphy and world number one Judd Trump have reached the Welsh Open second round.

Murphy beat fellow Englishman Zak Surety 4-1 while Trump saw off China's Zhao Jianbo 4-2 in round one.

They were joined by Mark Selby, who beat Barry Pinches 4-1 while Zhao's fellow countryman Ding Junhui earlier earned a 4-1 win over compatriot Lyu Haotian.

There was good news for the host nation as Jamie Jones won his first match.

Jones beat China's Yuan Sijun 4-1 in Monday's evening session while compatriot Lee Walker lost his first-round match 4-1 to England's Mark Davis.

However, another Welshman, Jak Jones, came back from 3-0 down to beat China's Fan Zhengyi 4-3.

A minute's silence was held for Welsh snooker legend Doug Mountjoy before play started.

Results from Day One

Round one

Lee Walker (Wal) 1-4 Mark Davis (Eng)

Joe Perry (Eng) 4-3 Chang Bingyu (Chn)

Pang Junxu (Chn) 4-0 Allan Taylor (Eng)

Andy Hicks (Eng) 3-4 David Lilley (Eng)

Simon Lichtenberg (Ger) 4-2 Riley Parsons (Eng)

Ding Junjui (Chn) 4-1 Lyu Haotian (Chn)

Elliot Slessor (Eng) 4-2 Ben Fortey (Wal)

Li Hang (Chn) 0-4 Martin O'Donnell (Eng)

Shaun Murphy (Eng) 4-1 Zak Surety (Eng)

Judd Trump (Eng) 4-2 Zhao Jianbo (Chn)

Allan Taylor (Eng) 0-4 Pang Junxu (Chn)

Matthew Selt (Eng) 4-0 Lukas Kleckers (Ger)

Liang Wenbo (Chn) 1-4 Joe O'Connor (Eng)

James Cahill (Eng) 0-4 Matthew Stevens (Wal)

Sean Maddocks (Eng) 3-4 Jamie O'Neill (Eng)

Eden Sharav (Isr) 2-4 Andrew Higginson (Eng)

Anthony McGill (Sco) 4-0 Louis Heathcote (Eng)

Brian Ochoiski (Fra) 4-1 Paul S Davison (Eng)

Gary Wilson (Eng) 4-2 Ashley Hugill (Eng)

Xio Gudong (Chn) 4-0 Iulian Boiko (Ukr)

Jordan Brown (NIr) 4-0 Luo Honghao (Chn)

Alexander Ursenbacher (Che) 4-1 Noppon Saengkham (Tha)

John Higgins (Sco) 4-1 Steven Hallworth (Eng)

Michael Holt (Eng) 0-4 David Grace (Eng)

Jamie Jones (Wal) 4-1 Yuan Sijun (Chn)

Mark Selby (Eng) 4-1 Barry Pinches (Eng)

Jak Jones (Wal) 4-3 Fan Zhengyi (Chn)

Mark Allen (NI) 4-2 Fraser Patrick (Sco)

Zhao Xintong (Chn) 4-2 Luca Brecel (Bel)

Stephen Maguire (Sco) 4-1 Dominic Dale (Wal)

Si Jiahui (Chn) 4-2 Brandon Sargeant (Eng)

Peter Lines (Eng) 2-4 Hossein Vafaei (Irn)

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer