World Championship: Ken Doherty and Peter Ebdon out in qualifying, Graeme Dott through

Ken Doherty
Irishman Ken Doherty won the World Championship in 1997
2018 World Championship
Venue: Crucible Theatre, Sheffield Dates: 21 April - 7 May
Coverage: Watch live across BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Red Button, Connected TV, the BBC Sport website and mobile app.

Former world champions Ken Doherty and Peter Ebdon failed to reach the World Championship as they both lost in the final qualifying round.

Doherty lost 10-2 to two-time runner-up Matthew Stevens whilst Peter Ebdon was beaten 10-6 by Ryan Day.

Scotland's Graeme Dott, winner in 2006, made it through with a 10-7 win over England's Mike Dunn at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield.

The World Championship at the Crucible Theatre runs from 21 April to 7 May.

England's Chris Wakelin and Liam Highfield, Thailand's Thepchaiya Un-Nooh and China's Lyu Haotian all qualified for the first time.

Welshman Jamie Jones beat China's Liang Wenbo 10-0 in the final qualifying round's only win by that score, and there were also wins for Stephen Maguire and Joe Perry.

The draw for the World Championship takes place at 10:00 BST on Thursday, with 16 qualifiers joining the top 16 players in the world.

Sign up to My Sport to follow snooker news and reports on the BBC app.