Welsh Open Snooker trophy named after legend Ray Reardon

Ray Reardon
When snooker world rankings were introduced in 1976, Ray Reardon was the first number one and remained there until 1981

The trophy for February's Welsh Open tournament has been renamed after six-time world champion Ray Reardon.

Tredegar-born Reardon, now 83, dominated snooker for much of the 1970s, winning his sixth world title at the Crucible in 1978.

Reardon said: "It's quite something. I'm ecstatic about it. It's a real honour."

The English Open and Northern Ireland Open trophies have been named after Steve Davis and Alex Higgins.

Sign up to My Sport to follow snooker news and reports on the BBC app.

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC