Scotland Women: Lisa Evans withdraws for Norway and Iceland matches in La Manga

Lisa Evans and Abbi Grant
Lisa Evans has 66 Scotland caps to Abbi Grant's one

Arsenal forward Lisa Evans has withdrawn from the Scotland squad to face Norway and Iceland due to injury.

Forward Abbi Grant, who recently signed for Anderlecht from Glasgow City, has been called up in Evans' absence.

Shelley Kerr's side are in La Manga in Spain on a winter training camp and will face the Norwegians on Thursday.

The friendlies are part of their preparation for playing in their first World Cup in June, when they will face England, Japan and Argentina.

Evans, who has 66 caps, played in Arsenal's 2-1 defeat by Chelsea on Sunday.

Midfielder Kim Little, who was left out the Scotland squad as she recovers from long-term injury, also played the full 90 minutes in the Women's Super League encounter as she made her second start since her return.

Defender Emma Mitchell came on at half-time in the London derby but is also missing from the Scotland squad along with Glasgow City goalkeeper Lee Alexander and Reading centre-half Sophie Howard.

Captain Rachel Corsie was unavailable for selection as she finishes her season with Canberra United.

The 23-year-old Grant will be hoping to earn only her second cap as Scotland face Norway, who are ranked 13th in the world and defeated the Scots 3-0 last January.

Iceland, who sit two spots below Scotland in 22nd and failed to make the World Cup finals, will face Scotland on Monday.

Kerr's side will also face Iceland in the Algarve Cup, which begins on Wednesday 27 February, with Canada their other group opponents.

Scotland are taking part for the second time in the invitational tournament, with six of the 11 other sides also preparing for the World Cup in France.

Scotland Squad

Goalkeepers: Jenna Fife (Hibernian), Rachel Harrison (Spartans), Shannon Lynn (Vittsjo GIK).

Defenders: Chloe Arthur (Birmingham City), Jen Beattie (Manchester City), Frankie Brown (Bristol City), Nicola Docherty (Glasgow City), Joelle Murray (Hibernian), Kirsty Smith (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Lizzie Arnot (Manchester United), Leanne Crichton (Glasgow City), Lucy Graham (Bristol City), Hayley Lauder (Glasgow City), Jo Love (Glasgow City), Christie Murray (Liverpool), Caroline Weir (Manchester City).

Forwards: Fiona Brown (Rosengard), Lana Clelland (Fiorentina), Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea), Claire Emslie (Manchester City), Abbi Grant (Anderlecht), Zoe Ness (Durham), Jane Ross (West Ham United).

Top Stories