David Goodwillie selected for Scotland duty

David Goodwillie
Goodwillie has had one full cap for Scotland, against Faroe Islands in 2010

As expected, Scotland coach Craig Levein has named David Goodwillie in his squad for next month's friendly match with Denmark.

The Dundee United striker, who is in talks with Blackburn, was overlooked for recent games as he faced criminal charges but the case has been dropped.

Skipper Darren Fletcher is missing as he recovers from a virus and goalkeeper Craig Gordon remains sidelined.

Alan Hutton, Graham Dorrans and Robert Snodgrass return after injuries.

Levein had confirmed on Sunday that Goodwillie would return and there were few surprises when he named a 24-man pool.

Matt Gilks and fellow goalkeeper Iain Turner are the only uncapped players selected.

James McFadden, Lee Wallace, Ross McCormack, Mark Wilson and James McArthur have not been included.

Levein, who handed Goodwillie his United debut, is delighted that the 22-year-old has progressed to the stage where he is attracting bids from Blackburn and Rangers.

"The striking position is one that we don't have a plethora of players for," Levein explained. "So it's good [to have him back] and it's in keeping with some of the younger lads I have been putting in to give them experience.

"I put David in that category and if you look at his form last season and the way he has started this season at Dundee United, I believe he's in the squad on merit.

"It is significant that a couple of clubs at least have felt he is worth an awful lot of money and that's pleasing for me because he is another one of our players who is improving.

"It's always a little bit of a gamble when you take a young player from one league to the other, and it is obviously a step up.

"But his attitude is such that I think he'll be capable of playing in the Premier League."

Scotland squad: Charlie Adam (Liverpool), Barry Bannan (Aston Villa), Phil Bardsley (Sunderland), Christophe Berra (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Scott Brown (Celtic), Gary Caldwell (Wigan Athletic), Kris Commons (Celtic), Stephen Crainey (Blackpool), Graham Dorrans (West Bromwich Albion), James Forrest (Celtic), Matt Gilks (Blackpool), David Goodwillie (Dundee United), Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers), Alan Hutton (Tottenham Hotspur), Craig Mackail-Smith (Brighton & Hove Albion), Allan McGregor (Rangers), Kenny Miller (Cardiff City), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion), Steven Naismith (Rangers), Barry Robson (Middlesbrough), Robert Snodgrass (Leeds United), Iain Turner (Preston North End), Steven Whittaker (Rangers), Danny Wilson (Liverpool)

Denmark squad

Goalkeepers: Anders R Lindegaard (Manchester United), Thomas Sorensen (Stoke City)

Defenders: Bo Svensson (FSV Mainz 05), Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Johnny Juul Thomsen (Kobenhavn), Lars Jacobsen, Nicolai Boilesen (Ajax), Simon Busk Poulsen (AZ Alkmaar), Simon Kjær (VfL Wolfsburg)

Midfielders: Christian Bjornshoj Poulsen (Liverpool), Christian D Eriksen (Ajax), Jakob Poulsen (Midtjylland), Lasse Schone (Nijmegen), Michael Silberbauer (Young Boys), Niki Zimling (Nijmegen), Thomas Enevoldsen (Groningen), William Kvist Jorgensen (Stuttgart)

Forwards: Dennis Rommedahl (Olympiakos), Mads Junker (Roda JC), Michael Krohn-Dehli (Brondby), Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal), Nicklas Pedersen (Groningen)