European Champions Cup: Ospreys and Saracens welcome back World Cup players

Ospreys quartet Nicky Smith, Adam Beard, Justin Tipuric, Owen Watkin celebrating Wales' 2019 Grand Slam
Ospreys quartet Nicky Smith, Adam Beard, Justin Tipuric and Owen Watkin celebrating Wales' 2019 Grand Slam
European Champions Cup; Saracens v Ospreys
Date: Saturday, 23 November Kick-off: 13:00 GMT Venue: Allianz Park
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Sport online and updates on Radio Wales and Radio Cymru

Ospreys have World Cup duo Owen Watkin and Adam Beard back in the side to face Champions Cup holders Saracens.

Aled Davies, Bradley Davies and Nicky Smith also start having returned as replacements in the 32-13 defeat by Munster.

England's Elliot Daly, Mako Vunipola and George Kruis are back for Saracens, with Jamie George starting on the bench.

There is still no return for Owen Farrell, Maro Itoje or Billy Vunipola.

Captain Justin Tipuric remains absent for Ospreys, still resting after the World Cup.

Alun Wyn Jones is unavailable the groin niggle that has ruled him out of Wales uncapped international against Barbarians on 30 November.

Scott Williams is also missing after a knock last week.

Head Coach Allen Clarke makes seven personnel changes while Marvin Orie moves from lock to flanker to replace injured Dan Lydiate.

Saracens will play at home for the first time after confirming they would not challenge a 35-points deduction and £5.36m fine for their Premiership salary cap breach.

Mark McCall's men began their Champions Cup defence with a comprehensive 30-10 defeat at Racing 92 last weekend.

Saracens: Daly; Segun, Taylor, Barritt, Lewington; Manu Vunipola, Whiteley; Mako Vunipola, Singleton, Lamositele, Skelton, Kruis, Isiekwe, Earl, Wray.

Replacements: George, Barrington, Ibuanokpe, Kpoku, Christie, Wigglesworth, Lozowski, Gallagher.

Ospreys: Evans; Dirksen, Watkin, K Williams, T Williams; Hook, Davies; Smith, Otten, Fia, Beard, B Davies, Orie, Cracknell, Morris.

Replacements: Phillips, Thomas, Botha, Ashley, Cross, Venter, Price, Thomas-Wheeler.

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France) Assistants: Thomas Charabas (France), Vincent Blasco Baqué (France) TMO: Philippe Bonhoure (France)

Top Stories