Rugby World Cup: Final group tables - who made the quarter-finals?

Scotland's Stuart McInally, England's Owen Farrell, Wales' Alun Wyn Jones and Ireland's Rory Best
Home nations' captains: Scotland's Stuart McInally, England's Owen Farrell, Wales' Alun Wyn Jones and Ireland's Rory Best

Hosts Japan booked the last of the eight World Cup quarter-final spots with a thrilling win over Scotland on Sunday.

England, Wales and Ireland had already secured their places in the next round but Scotland went out after finishing third in their group.

New Zealand, South Africa, France and Australia are the other teams to reach the last eight.

What are the rules?

Teams received four points for a win and two for a draw. A bonus point is awarded for scoring four tries or for a defeat by seven points or fewer.

The winners and runners-up in each pool qualify for the quarter-finals.

Pool A

Pool A table

Japan v Scotland (13 October): Hosts Japan reached the World Cup quarter-finals for the first time by beating Scotland 28-21 in a scintillating match which knocked Scotland out of the tournament.

Ireland finished runners-up and will face champions New Zealand on Saturday while pool winners Japan will face South Africa next Sunday.

Pool B

Pool B

South Africa became the first team from Pool B to reach the quarter-finals when they beat Canada 66-7 but defending champions New Zealand topped the group when their final pool game against Italy was cancelled.

The All Blacks, who remain unbeaten, picked up two points to move above the Springboks and qualify as Pool B winners.

Pool C

Pool C

England and France had sealed their qualification before Typhoon Hagibis ended their chances of a meeting in Pool C.

Both sides ended their group campaigns unbeaten but Eddie Jones' side took top spot while France, who claimed fewer bonus points, qualified in second place.

Pool D

Pool D

Wales beat Uruguay 35-13 in their final pool game to complete the group stages with a 100% record. Victory ensured Warren Gatland's men finish Pool D on top, and they will face France in the quarter-finals.

Australia finished as runners-up and they will face England in the last eight.

Knockout stages - who plays who?

19 OctoberEnglandvAustralia
New ZealandvIreland
20 OctoberWalesvFrance
JapanvSouth Africa
26 OctoberWinner, QF1vWinner, QF2
27 OctoberWinner, QF3vWinner, QF4
Graphic advertising that BBC Radio 5 Live will have live commentary of every match at the Rugby World Cup

Top Stories

Explore the BBC