Rugby World Cup 2019: Full fixtures and results plus tournament rules

New Zealand National Men's Rugby Team
New Zealand won the competition in 2015 to become the first team to lift the trophy three times
2019 Rugby World Cup
Hosts: Japan Dates: 20 September to 2 November
Coverage: Full commentary on every game across BBC Radio 5 Live plus text updates on the BBC Sport website and app. Full details.

Knockout-stage rules

  • If scores are tied at full time teams will play 10 minutes of extra time each way
  • If there's still no winner 10 minutes of sudden death will follow where the first team to score wins
  • Finally if the scores are still tied a best-of-five kicking competition will take place

Quarter-final fixtures

Saturday, 19 October

Quarter-final 1: England v Australia (Oita), 08:15

Quarter-final 2: New Zealand v Ireland (Tokyo), 11:15

Sunday, 20 October

Quarter-final 3: Wales v France (Oita), 08:15

Quarter-final 4: Japan v South Africa (Tokyo), 11:15

All times are BST unless stated and are subject to change. The BBC is not responsible for any changes that may be made.

Semi-final fixtures

Saturday, 26 October

Semi-final 1: England/Australia v New Zealand/Ireland (Yokohama), 09:00

Sunday, 27 October

Semi-final 2: Wales/France v Japan/South Africa (Yokohama), 09:00 GMT


Friday, 1 November

Third-place match (Tokyo), 09:00 GMT


Saturday, 2 November

Final (Yokohama), 09:00 GMT

Rugby World Cup on 5 live graphic

Group-stage results

Rugby World Cup groups
Pool A: Ireland, Japan, Russia, Samoa, Scotland
Pool B: Canada, Italy, Namibia, New Zealand, South Africa
Pool C: Argentina, England, France, Tonga, United States
Pool D: Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Uruguay, Wales

Teams received four points for a win and two for a draw. A bonus point was awarded for scoring four tries or for a defeat by seven points or fewer. The winner and runner-up in each pool qualified for the quarter-finals.

Friday, 20 September

Pool A: Japan 30-10 Russia

Saturday, 21 September

Pool D: Australia 39-21 Fiji

Pool C: France 23-21 Argentina

Pool B: New Zealand 23-13 South Africa

Sunday, 22 September

Pool B: Italy 47-22 Namibia

Pool A: Ireland 27-3 Scotland

Pool C: England 35-3 Tonga

Monday, 23 September

Pool D: Wales 43-14 Georgia

Tuesday, 24 September

Pool A: Russia 9-34 Samoa

Wednesday, 25 September

Pool D: Fiji 27-30 Uruguay

Thursday, 26 September

Pool B: Italy 48-7 Canada

Pool C: England 45-7 United States

Saturday, 28 September

Pool C: Argentina 28-12 Tonga

Pool A: Japan 19-12 Ireland

Pool B: South Africa 57-3 Namibia

Sunday, 29 September

Pool D: Georgia 33-7 Uruguay

Pool D: Australia 25-29 Wales

Monday, 30 September

Pool A: Scotland 34-0 Samoa

Wednesday, 2 October

Pool C: France 31-9 United States

Pool B: New Zealand 63-0 Canada

Thursday, 3 October

Pool D: Georgia 10-45 Fiji

Pool A: Ireland 35-0 Russia

Friday, 4 October

Pool B: South Africa 49-3 Italy

Saturday, 5 October

Pool D: Australia 45-10 Uruguay

Pool C: England 39-10 Argentina

Pool A: Japan 38-19 Samoa

Sunday, 6 October

Pool B: New Zealand 71-9 Namibia

Pool C: France 23-21 Tonga

Tuesday, 8 October

Pool B: South Africa 66-7 Canada

Wednesday, 9 October

Pool C: Argentina 47-17 United States

Pool A: Scotland 61-0 Russia

Pool D: Wales 29-17 Fiji

Friday, 11 October

Pool D: Australia 27-8 Georgia

Saturday, 12 October

Pool B: New Zealand C-C Italy*

Pool C: England C-C France*

Pool A: Ireland 47-5 Samoa

* Matches called off because of Typhoon Hagibis

Sunday, 13 October

Pool B: Namibia C-C Canada*

Pool C: United States 19-31 Tonga

Pool D: Wales 33-13 Uruguay

Pool A: Japan 28-21 Scotland

* Matches called off because of Typhoon Hagibis

Top Stories