World Rugby U20 Championship: England U20 45-26 Wales U20

Number eight Jac Morgan started Wales' second-half revival against England
Number eight Jac Morgan started Wales' second-half revival against England
World Rugby U20 Championship: England v Wales
England (28) 45
Tries: Hodge, Capon, Penalty try, Heyes, Dingwall, Hill Cons: Hodge 5 Pen: Hodge
Wales (0) 26
Tries: J Morgan, Lake, Scragg, Dyer Cons: Evans 3

England beat Wales in the fifth-sixth place final at the World Rugby Under-20 Championship in Argentina.

They were 28-0 up at half-time through Josh Hodge, Will Capon, Joe Heyes, plus a penalty try for Wales centre Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler's deliberate knock-on.

Wales improved after the break with Jac Morgan, Dewi Lake, Ed Scragg and Rio Dyer all crossing.

But England added further tries through Fraser Dingwall and Ted Hill to seal the result.

England's win was helped by the 100% place-kicking of Hodge, with the wing converting five tries and a penalty.

Wales had beaten New Zealand 8-7 in their previous match to reach this stage, while England saw off Ireland.


England U20s: Tom de Glanville (Bath Rugby); Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints, capt), Luke James (Sale Sharks), Josh Hodge (Newcastle Falcons); Manu Vunipola (Saracens), Sam Maunder (Exeter Chiefs); James Kenny (Exeter Chiefs), Will Capon (Bristol Bears), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Joel Kpoku (Saracens), Alex Coles (Northampton Saints), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Aaron Hinkley (Gloucester Rugby), Tom Willis (Wasps Rugby).

Replacements: Nic Dolly (Sale Sharks), Olly Adkins (Gloucester Rugby), Alfie Petch (Exeter Chiefs), Kai Owen (Worcester Warriors), Rusiate Tuima (Exeter Chiefs), Richard Capstick (Exeter Chiefs), Ollie Fox (Yorkshire Carnegie), Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby), Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish), Connor Doherty (Sale Sharks).

Wales U20s: Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues); Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), Deon Smith (Dragons), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets); Cai Evans (Ospreys), Harri Morgan (Ospreys); Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Dewi Lake (Ospreys, capt), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Jac Price (Scarlets), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets), Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers), Jac Morgan (Aberavon/Scarlets).

Replacements: Garin Lloyd (Ospreys), Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Morgan Jones (Scarlets), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Tom Hoppe (Dragons), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Tom Devine (Dragons), 
Ioan R Davies (Cardiff Blues), Will Griffiths (Dragons).

Top Stories