Ulster see off Uruguay 21-5 in Belfast friendly

Highlights: Ulster 21-5 Uruguay
Tour match: Ulster v Uruguay
Ulster (14) 21
Tries: McBurney 2, Marcus Rea Cons: McPhillips 3
Uruguay (0) 5
Try: Mieres

A youthful Ulster side scored three tries in seeing off Uruguay 21-5 in Friday's friendly at Kingspan Stadium.

Home captain Adam McBurney touched down twice within a four-minute period during the first quarter and flanker Marcus Rea scored in the second half.

All Ulster's tries were set up by rolling mauls from lineouts and Johnny McPhillips converted on each occasion.

Uruguay winger Gaston Mieres dived over in the corner for a 71st-minute consolation try for the tourists.

The south American side, who have qualified for next year's World Cup and are ranked 18th in the IRB rankings, went into the game on the back of a 45-21 defeat by Cardiff Blues on Tuesday.

The match was in some doubt prior to kick-off as hours of heavy rain in Belfast made underfoot conditions very soggy but the referee deemed the pitch playable after a 17:45 GMT inspection, despite parts of the playing surface appearing saturated.

Hooker McBurney rumbled over in the 13th minute and repeated the feat soon after to put his side in control at 14-0 at the interval.

Uruguay threatened the Ulster line on several occasions but were unable to breach the Irish province's defences.

Rea barged over 14 minutes into the second half and then Mieres scored the visitors' only points.

Academy coach Kieran Campbell had been put in charge of the Ulster squad for the week and the line-up announced on Thursday included a number of Academy players and forwards Alex Thompson and Marcus Rea, who have yet to make their competitive debuts.

Ulster: Bruce Houston; Iwan Hughes, Stewart Moore, James Hume, Angus Kernohan; Johnny McPhillips, Jonny Stewart; Schalk van der Merwe, Adam McBurney (capt), Tom O'Toole; Matthew Rea, Alex Thompson; Joe Dunleavy, Marcus Rea, Greg Jones.

Replacements: Zack McCall, Corrie Barrett, Peter Cooper, JJ McKee, David McCann, Jonah C Milligan, Graham Curtis, Michael Stronge.

Uruguay: Rodrigo Silva; Leandro Leivas, Juan Manuel Cat, Andres Vilaseca, Gaston Mieres; Felipe Berchesi, Santiago Arata; Mateo Sanguinetti, German Kesssler; Ignacio Dotti, Diego Magno; Juan Gaminara (capt), Juan Diego Ormaechea, Alejandro Nieto.

Replacements: Manuel Ardao, Matias Benitez, Juan Echeverria, Manuel Diana, Leandro Segredo, Tomas Inciarte, Agustin Della Corte, Federico Favaro.

Top Stories

Also in NI Sport