Women's international: Wales 19-5 South Africa

By Nick WebbBBC Wales Sport
Kerin lake tries to beat Snenhlanhla Shozi
Wales centre Kerin lake tries to beat South Africa wing Snenhlanhla Shozi
Women's international: Wales v South Africa
Wales (12) 19
Tries: Joyce, Harries, Phillips Cons: Wilkins 2
South Africa (0) 5
Try: Dumke

Wales were made to work hard to work for a 19-5 victory over a South Africa side returning to international rugby after a four-year break.

Jaz Joyce and Sioned Harries crossed for first-half tries, Robyn Wilkins converting one.

But Lusanda Dumke pulled a try back before Carys Phillips' late score converted by Wilkins.

Wales centre Kerin Lake was carried off after a head clash, was able to regain her feet but suffered a concussion.

Wales dominated territory before the interval to lead 12-0, only for the tourists to produce numerous second-half chances.

A lengthy hold-up for treatment to Lake was followed by Phillips' late score to seal the result.

There was an early debut for 17-year-old flanker Manon Johnes as a replacement for Alisha Butchers, while starting full-back Lauren Smyth, replacement scrum-half Ffion Lewis and centre Alicia McComish also won first Wales caps.

Wales next host Hong Kong on Friday, 16 November (19:00 GMT), then Canada on Saturday, 24 November (11:30 GMT), both at Cardiff Arms Park.

South Africa go on to face Spain and Italy.

Wales: Lauren Smyth (Ospreys); Jasmine Joyce (Scarlets), Alecs Donovan (Ospreys), Kerin Lake (Ospreys), Jess Kavanagh (RGC); Robyn Wilkins (Blues), Keira Bevan(Ospreys); Caryl Thomas (Dragons), Carys Phillips (captain, Ospreys), Amy Evans (Ospreys), Siwan Lillicrap (Ospreys), Mel Clay (Ospreys), Alisha Butchers (Scarlets), Bethan Lewis (Dragons), Sioned Harries (Scarlets).

Replacements: Kelsey Jones (Ospreys), Cara Hope (Ospreys), Cerys Hale (Dragons), Natalia John (Ospreys), Manon Johnes (Blues), Ffion Lewis (Scarlets), Alicia McComish (Dragons), Lisa Neumann (RGC).

South Africa: Vuyolwethu Maqholo; Nosiphiwo Goda, Demi Nel, Zinhle Ndawonde, Snenhlanhla Shozi; Zintle Mphupha, Tayla Kinsey; Thantaswa Macingwane, Annique Geswind, Babalwa Latsha, Bernice Strydom, Nolusindiso Booi (captain), Lusanda Dumke, Sinazo Mcatshulwa, Aseza Hele.

Replacements: Lindelawa Gwala, Yonela Ngxingolo, Katlego Moremi, Karthy Dludla, Charmaine Kayser, Felicia Jacobs, Fundiswa Plaatje, Kirsten Conrad.

Referee: Nikki O'Donnell (RFU).

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC