European Rugby Challenge Cup: Perpignan 24-41 Sale Sharks

Rohan Janse van Rensburg scores Sale's third try v Perpignan
Rohan Janse van Rensburg was among Sale's try scorers in Perpignan
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Perpignan (16) 24
Tries: Lucas, Mamea Con: Bousquet Pens: Bousquet 4
Sale (19) 41
Tries: McGuigan 3, Webber, Van Rensberg, James Cons: De Klerk 3, Cliff Pen: De Klerk

Sale began their European Challenge Cup campaign with a bonus-point win at Perpignan.

Byron McGuigan scored a hat-trick as Sharks ran in six tries against the Top 14 side, who had flanker Manu Leiataua sent off in the first half.

Rob Webber, Rohan Janse van Rensberg and Luke James also crossed for Sale.

Perpignan's tries came from Pierre Lucas, in the first half, with Genesis Mamea Lemalu grabbing a consolation.

The sides traded early tries at the Stade Aime Giral, including McGuigan's first, before the moment which arguably dictated the outcome.

Samoa international Leiataua was shown a red card after referee Joy Neville and television match official Kevin Beggs reviewed a late hit on Sale hooker Webber.

Leiataua was adjudged to have led with his arm as he made contact with the neck, and the home crowd's disdain increased when Webber scored from the resulting catch and drive line-out.

But the match was well-balanced at 19-16 at half-time, only for Perpignan's ill-discipline to hamper them again after the break.

Replacement back row Alban Roussel was sin-binned for playing the ball on the floor at the ruck and Sale addrf two late tries through McGuigan.

Perpignan: Farnoux; Bousquet, Lucas, Marty, Sau; Selponi, Degmache; Mamea, Brazo (capt), Reynaud, Vivalda, Van Heerden, Charlet, Leiataua, Boutemmani.

Replacements: Deligny, Tougne, Muller, Roussel, Iachizzi, Mele, Seguy, Taumoepeau.

Sin-binned: Roussel (62 mins).

Sent off: Leiataua (19 mins).

Sale Sharks: James; McGuigan, O'Connor, Van Rensburg, Odogwu; Wilkinson, De Klerk; Harrison, Webber, John, Beaumont, Phillips, Ross (capt), Curry, Strauss.

Replacements: Langdon, Bristow, Jones, Nott, Curry, Cliff, Doherty, James.

Referee: Joy Neville (Ire).

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunion on Twitter.

Top Stories