Ireland international Tadhg Beirne voted Pro14 player of the season

Former Scarlets lock Tadhg Beirne
Tadhg Beirne made his Irish international debut on the 2018 summer tour of Australia

Ireland international Tadhg Beirne has won the top award at the Pro14 ceremony for the 2017/18 season.

Beirne, who has moved from Scarlets to Munster during the close season, was voted the players' player of the season at the awards ceremony in Glasgow.

"I'm very proud and honoured too," said Beirne. "To be voted by the players is a special feeling, it's been a great year for me.

"I've recently become an international and I've still got a lot to learn."

Champions Leinster were rewarded with Leo Cullen and Jordan Larmour winning the coach and young player award respectively, while Scarlets won the fair play award.

Former Dragons back-rower Ed Jackson received the Pro14 Chairman's Award in recognition of his recovery from a serious spinal injury and subsequent charity work.

Jackson, 29, was forced to retire from the game last year and has since recovered to the point where he has climbed Snowdon mountain in Wales for charity.

In the Dream Team of 2017-18, Pro14 Champions Leinster and runners-up Scarlets each have five players included, with nine appearances the criteria for selection. Glasgow Warriors flanker Callum Gibbins was nominated as the side's captain.

Dream Team 2017-18:

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh); Jordan Larmour (Leinster), Nick Grigg (Glasgow), Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets), James Lowe (Leinster); Rhys Patchell (Scarlets), John Cooney (Ulster); Rob Evans (Scarlets), Torsten van Jaarsveld (Cheetahs), Andrew Porter (Leinster), Scott Fardy (Leinster), Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets), Callum Gibbins (Glasgow, capt), Jack Conan (Leinster).

Top Stories