World Rugby U20 Championship: Australia 21-26 Wales

Cai Evans
Ospreys' full-back Cai Evans had a good night with the boot
World Rugby U20 Championship: Wales v Australia at Stade de la Mediterranee
Australia: (11) 21
Tries: Hansen, McDermott Cons: Longergan Pens: Longergan (3)
Wales (20) 26
Tries: Nicholas, Goodchild Cons: Evans (2) Pens: Evans (4)

Wales Under-20s got their World Rugby Championship off to a winning start in their opening game against Australia.

First half tries from Ioan Nicholas and Joe Goodchild, plus 16 points from the boot of Cai Evans secured a Pool A victory in Beziers.

Australia crossed the whitewash first through Mack Hansen, with Tate McDermott's late try bringing them to within a score.

But Geraint Lewis' Wales side were able to hold on for the win.

Wales now play New Zealand at the same venue on Sunday, 3 June (15:30 BST), before meeting Japan on Thursday, 7 June (17:30 BST) at the Stade Aime-Giral in Perpignan.

New Zealand beat Japan 67-0 in the evening's other pool game.

Australia captain Ryan Longergan and Evans exchanged penalties in the early stages before a cross field kick was parried back infield for full-back Hansen to gather and score.

Wales hit back through centre Nicholas who latched onto a grubber kick just inches before the dead ball line, and extended their lead when substitute wing, Goodchild supported the break of Corey Baldwin.

Penalties continued to be exchanged after the break before substitute scrum-half McDermott broke the deadlock just minutes from time, with the TMO called in to judge his grounding.

Wales won the restart and were able to keep possession until the final whistle.

Australia U20: Mack Hansen; James Ramm, Semisi Tupou, Isaac Lucas, Matt McTaggert; Bayley Kuenzie, Ryan Longergan (capt); Harry Hoopert, Efi Maafu, Tom Ross, Trevor Hosea, Angus Blyth, Esei Haangana, Josh Kemeny, Fraser McReight.

Replacements: Sama Malolo, George Francis, Lawrence Tominiko, Michael Wood, Patrick Tafa, Tate McDermott, Will Harrison, Isiah Latu.

Wales U20: Cai Evans (Ospreys); Rio Dyer (Dragons), Corey Baldwin (Scarlets), Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets), Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets); Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues), Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues); Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues), Iestyn Harris (Cardiff Blues), Rhys Henry (Ospreys), Rhys Davies (Bath Rugby), Max Williams (Dragons), Tommy Reffell (capt, Leicester Tigers), Dan Davis (Scarlets), Taine Basham (Dragons).

Replacements: Dewi Lake (Ospreys), Rhys Davies (Scarlets), Will Davies-King (Cardiff Blues), Lewis Ellis-Jones (Scarlets), Lennon Greggains (Dragons), Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Ben Thomas (Cardiff Blues), Joe Goodchild (Dragons).

Top Stories