Pro14: Cheetahs 17-19 Munster

Conor Murray
Conor Murray scored Munster's try and also kicked a penalty
Guinness Pro14
Cheetahs (17) 17
Tries: Blommetjies, Meyer Con: Goosen 2 Pen: Goosen
Munster (7) 19
Tries: Murray Con: Hanrahan Pens: Hanrahan 3, Murray

Munster strengthened their grip on second place in Conference A of the Pro14 by coming from behind to beat the Cheetahs 19-17 in Bloemfontein.

Tries from Clayton Blommetjies and Tian Meyer helped the hosts to a 17-7 half-time lead, Conor Murray crossing for Munster, who had Simon Zebo sin-binned.

Four second-half penalties gave Munster victory and the Irish province now lie nine points ahead of Cheetahs in third.

Cheetahs had come into the game on the back of a three-game winning streak.

Munster made it two wins from two on their tour to South Africa after beating Southern Kings 39-22 in Cape Town last week.

Pro14 debutant Johan Goosen kicked a penalty and two conversions for Cheetahs, with JJ Hanrahan landing three penalties and a conversion for Munster.

Scrum-half Murray, a first-half replacement, knocked over the decisive three-pointer from inside his own half in the 66th minute.

Blommetjies rewarded the Cheetahs' early pressure by ending a fine 10th-minute move and Goosen converted.

Munster lost Zebo to the sin-bin for 10 minutes, and Cheetahs doubled their lead when scrum-half Meyer powered over and Goosen added the extras again.

Murray's entrance as a replacement for the injured James Hart had an instant impact.

Murray broke free close to the line three minutes before half-time and Hanrahan converted to reduce the deficit to 14-7.

Goosen extended the Cheetahs' lead right on half-time, but that was to be the South Africans' final points of the game as Munster took command.

Hanrahan got Munster to within one score by landing three penalties before Murray took over the kicking duties in spectacular style.

Cheetahs: C Blommetjies; W Small-Smith, F Venter (capt), N Marais, S Maxwane,; J Goosen, T Meyer; O Niche, T van Jaarsveld, J Coetzee; C Wegner, R Hugo; P Schoeman, O Mohoje, U Cassiem.

Replacements: J du Toit, C Marais, T Botha, R Bernardo, H Venter, Z Mkhabela, C Swart, AJ Coetzen.

Munster: S Zebo; A Conway, S Arnold, D Goggin, D Sweetnam; JJ Hanrahan, J Hart; B Scott, N Scannell, J Ryan; G Grobler, B Holland; P O'Mahony (capt), J O'Donoghue, R Copeland.

Replacements: R Marshall, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, D O'Callaghan, C Oliver, C Murray, I Keatley, R Scannell.