European Challenge Cup: Dragons 33-17 Bordeaux-Begles

Bordeaux-Begles scrum-half Jules Gimbert clears to touch
Bordeaux-Begles scrum-half Jules Gimbert clears to touch
European Challenge Cup
Dragons (5) 33
Tries: Dee, Hill, Hewitt, Fairbrother, Howard Cons: Henson 2, D Jones 2
Bordeaux-Begles (3) 17
Tries: Fuatai, Gimbert Cons: Volavola, Schoeman Pen: Volavola

Dragons claimed second place in Pool 1 of the European Challenge Cup with a bonus-point win over Bordeaux-Begles.

But Stade Francais' 17-10 win over Edinburgh denied the Welsh side a quarter-final spot as one of the best runners-up.

Elliot Dee's try gave Dragons a 5-3 lead at half-time.

But Cory Hill, Ashton Hewitt, Lloyd Fairbrother and Pat Howard crossed in the second half with Fa'asui Fuatai and Jules Gimbert replying for Bordeaux.

The result at Rodney Parade was sweet revenge for Dragons, who lost 36-28 last weekend in France.

Gloucester had already secured one of the three best runners-up spots from the five pools with French clubs Stade and Brive joining them.

Worcester lost at dominant Brive, who earned a bonus-point win at Stade Alexandre Cueuille.

Dragons coach Bernard Jackman said: "This group showed really good resilience; that was their [Bordeaux's] full-strength side out.

"They had something to play for so it's a real good win for us.

"We've had a real tough Christmas and I'm not going to get carried away, but hopefully that will kick-start our season now and we've got bodies coming back from injury next week."

Dragons: Carl Meyer; Ashton Hewitt, Adam Warren, Jack Dixon, Jared Rosser; Gavin Henson, Sarel Pretorius; Sam Hobbs, Elliot Dee, Lloyd Fairbrother, Rynard Landman, Cory Hill, James Sheekey, Aaron Wainwright, Robson Blake.

Replacements: Liam Belcher, Tom Davies, Gerard Ellis, Joe Davies, James Benjamin, Dan Babos, Dorian Jones, Pat Howard.

Bordeaux-Begles: Geoffrey Cros; Fa'asui Fuatai, Pablo Uberti, Metuisela Talebulamaijaina, Iban Etcheverry; Ben Volavola, Jules Gimbert; Sébastien Taofifenua, Adrien Pélissié, Ravai Kovekalou, Luke Jones, Jandré Marais, Marco Tauleigne, Cameron Woki, Leroy Houston.

Replacements: Florian Dufour,Thierry Paiva, Lasha Tabidze, Cyril Cazeaux, Alexandre Roumat, Gauthier Doubrere, Christian Schoeman, Apisai Naqalevu.

Referee: Tom Foley (England)

Assistant referees: Shane Kierans, Richard Kerr (Ireland)

Citing commissioner: Paul Hull (England).

Top Stories