BT Cup: Melrose exact revenge on Ayr in final

By Andy BurkeBBC Sport Scotland at Murrayfield
Melrose lift the BT Cup
Melrose lifted the BT Cup at the national rugby stadium, beating Ayr by five points

Melrose won the BT Cup after a gritty 23-18 win over Ayr at Murrayfield.

The Borders side took revenge after losing to the same opposition in last weekend's Premiership final.

Ayr went ahead through Danny McCluskey's try before Jamie Bhatti responded for Melrose.

Will Bordill's touchdown put Ayr back in front, but tries from George Taylor and Nyle Godsmark sealed it for Melrose, denying Ayr a league and cup double in the process.

Ayr got off to a flying start, wing McCluskey going over in the corner with barely a minute on the clock.

Melrose recovered from that nervy opening and levelled through a try from Glasgow Warriors prop Bhatti, and with fly-half Jason Baggot and Ayr counterpart Frazier Climo trading penalties the sides went in at the break locked at 8-8.

Baggot added another three points with the boot early in the second half but Bordill's try moved Ayr 15-11 ahead.

Climo stretched Ayr's advantage to seven points from the tee, but a fine try from Melrose wing Taylor set up a tense final 10 minutes at 18-18.

The winning score came three minutes from time, Melrose centre Godsmark coasting over after the Ayr defence cracked following a period of intense pressure near their line.

Elsewhere, Portobello emerged 33-23 victors in a thrilling Men's Bowl final.

That excitement was matched by their female counterparts in the Sarah Beaney Cup final, with Hillhead Jordanhill edging out Murrayfield Wanderers 26-23.

Stewartry Sirens claimed the Women's Plate after overcoming Stirling County 29-17.

In the Women's Bowl final Garioch took the honours with a 29-20 win over Kirkcaldy.

And in the final game of the day, Carrick claimed the Men's Shield with a 41-28 victory over Murrayfield Wanderers.

Top Stories