Pro12: Cardiff Blues 13-23 Munster

Pro12 highlights: Cardiff Blues 13-23 Munster
Pro12: Cardiff Blues v Munster
Cardiff Blues (6) 13
Tries: Summerhill Conv: Shingler Pens: Shingler 2
Munster (3) 23
Tries: Saili, Oliver Conv: Scannell 2 Pens: Scannell 2 Drop goal: Scannell

Munster kept the pressure on Pro12 leaders Ospreys as they left it late to seal victory against Welsh region Cardiff Blues.

Steve Shingler's two penalties sent the Blues in with a three-point lead at the break while they went ahead when Aled Summerhill scored the game's first try.

Francis Saili touched down as the visitors rallied late on, with Rory Scannell kicking a drop goal.

Conor Oliver crossed for the visitors late on to seal victory.

The defeat means Cardiff Blues' hopes of a top six finish suffered a blow as they remain in eighth in the Pro12.

Rory Scannell
Rory Scannell kicked 13 points for Munster against Cardiff Blues

Munster move up to second thanks to the win and are now a point behind Ospreys, with Leinster still to play Scarlets on Saturday.

The hosts' task could have been made much harder when Willis Halaholo was sin-binned for a high tackle on Andrew Conway just after the break, but Summerhill crossed moments later.

With Wales retaining their Six Nations players in hooker Kristian Dacey and wing Alex Cuthbert, Matthew Rees and Summerhill stepped up with the latter making an impact in the second half.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Aled Summerhill, Willis Halaholo, Steven Shingler, Tom James; Gareth Anscombe, Lloyd Williams (capt); Corey Domachowski, Matthew Rees, Anton Peikrishvili, George Earle, Jarrad Hoeata, Macauley Cook, Josh Navidi, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Kirby Myhill, Marc Thomas, Taufa'ao Filise, James Down, Sion Bennett, Tomos Williams, Garyn Smith, Rhun Williams.

Munster: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Darren O'Shea, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, Peter McCabe, Brian Scott, Fineen Wycherley, Conor Oliver, Abrie Griesel, Dan Goggin, Francis Saili.

Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)

Assistant referees: Emanuele Tomo (Italy), Jon Hardy (Wales)

TMO: Jim Yuille (Scotland)

Top Stories