Women's Six Nations 2017: Carys Phillips named Wales captain

Carys Phillips
Ospreys' Carys Phillips will captain Wales in the Six Nations
Women's Six Nations: Italy v Wales
Date: Saturday, 4 February Venue: Stadio Comunale Pacifico Carotti, Jesina Kick-off: 14:00 GMT
Coverage: Live updates on BBC Radio Wales

Wales head coach Rowland Phillips has named a 32-player squad for the Women's Six Nations.

The squad is led by Phillips' daughter Carys, who has recovered from injury.

The Scarlets hooker returned to captain the Welsh side in their friendly victory over Ireland on Sunday in Donnybrook after being given the all clear to return.

"It was a neck injury and we had to check whether there were any nerve issues," said Rowland Phillips.

"She had CT scans and they checked the nerves and those results came through last week when we were out in Spain.

"That was a huge bonus for us."

When asked whether there were any fears she would not play again Phillips responded: "You never think like that but I do appreciate the fact with any player, regardless of position, with neck injuries, you do fear for them."

And he added: "Back in the day when I was playing it was take an aspirin and get on with it.

"But now it's so important the welfare of the player is paramount."

Wales have played a series of warm-up games for the tournament, beating Scotland, the UK Armed Forces, Spain and Ireland.

Rowlands' team start their tournament against Italy at the Stadio Comunale Pacifico Carotti in Jesina, Italy, on 4 February.

Wales Women's Six Nations Squad

Forwards: Alisha Butchers (Scarlets), Mel Clay (Ospreys), Nia Elen Davies (Cardiff Blues), Amy Evans (Ospreys), Cerys Hale (Newport Gwent Dragons), Lowri Harries (Scarlets), Sioned Harries (Scarlets), Morfudd Ifans (Scarlets), Brea Leung (Scarlets), Siwan Lillicrap (Ospreys), Shona Powell-Hughes (Ospreys), Carys Phillips (captain) (Ospreys), Gwenllian Pyrs (Scarlets), Rebecca Rowe (Newport Gwent Dragons), Rachel Taylor (Scarlets), Caryl Thomas (Scarlets), Meg York (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Backs: Keira Bevan (Ospreys), Elen Evans (Scarlets), Jodie Evans (Scarlets), Rebecca de Filippo (Newport Gwent Dragons), Dyddgu Hywel (Scarlets), Jasmine Joyce (Scarlets), Jess Kavanagh-Williams (Scarlets), Kerin Lake (Ospreys), Sian Moore (Newport Gwent Dragons), Charlie Murray (Newport Gwent Dragons), Rhiannon Parker (Cardiff Blues), Gemma Rowland (Newport Gwent Dragons), Elinor Snowsill (Newport Gwent Dragons), Adi Taviner (Ospreys), Robyn Wilkins (Ospreys).

Top Stories