European Champions Cup: Munster 22-10 Racing 92

Simon Zebo twists over to score Munster's first try against Racing 92 in Limerick
Simon Zebo twists over to score Munster's first try against Racing 92 in Limerick
European Champions Cup Pool 1
Munster (7) 22
Tries: Zebo, R O'Mahony, Keatley Cons: Bleyendaal 2 Pen: Bleyendaal
Racing 92 (3) 10
Try: Chavancy Con: Machenaud Pen: Machenaud

Munster secured home advantage in the European Champions Cup quarter-finals thanks to a hard-fought victory over Racing 92 in Limerick.

The hosts dominated after a sluggish start and Simon Zebo's try helped them to a 7-3 lead at the break.

Munster opened up a 14-point gap with a Tyler Bleyendaal penalty and Ronan O'Mahony's converted try.

Henry Chavancy's converted try gave Racing hope before Ian Keatley touched down to seal the win.

It was a subdued start from Pool 1 winners Munster in front of a 26,200 sell-out crowd in Thomond Park.

Visitors miss out

Racing edged the opening stages but wasted a chance to go in front when Maxime Machenaud saw his penalty drop just short.

Munster seized control midway through the first half, but they were thwarted on the line by superb Racing defending.

Conor Murray dived over and touched down but after video replays he was judged to have lost control of the ball in the move.

Racing's resistance was finally broken on 37 minutes when Zebo twisted over for the try, with Bleyendaal converting.

Machenaud slotted over a penalty with the final action of the half to leave just four points between the teams.

Munster extend lead

The hosts maintained their dominance on the restart and a Bleyendaal penalty was followed by Munster's second try on 49 minutes.

It was a move built by Munster's forwards and finished by O'Mahony going in at the corner from Rory Scannell's pass, with Bleyendaal adding the extras to make it 17-3.

But a spirited Racing side were not finished and they hit back with a converted Chavancy try, the centre sliding in and managing to touch down on the line.

Munster quickly regained control and Andrew Conway set up replacement Keatley to dart in with 10 minutes left - Bleyendaal missed the conversion.

Munster failed to clinch a bonus-point win but they ensured Thomond Park will host a last-eight encounter.

Munster: Zebo; A Conway, J Taute, R Scannell, R O'Mahony; T Bleyendaal, C Murray; J Cronin, N Scannell, J Ryan; J Kleyn, D Ryan; P O'Mahony (capt), T O'Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: R Marshall, D Kilcoyne, T du Toit, B Holland, J O'Donoghue, D Williams, I Keatley, F Saili.

Racing 92: B Dulin; T Thomas, H Chavancy, E Dussartre, M Andreu; B Dambielle, M Machenaud; EB Arous, C Chat, B Tameifuna, M Carizza, L Nakarawa, Y Nyanga, M Voisin, S Fa'aso'o.

Replacements: V Lacombe, J Brugnaut, C Gomes Sa, A Williams, C Masoe, J Hart, F Pourteau, A Vulivuli.