Pro12: Zebre 19-24 Edinburgh

Duncan Weir
Duncan Weir kicked 14 points for Edinburgh in Parma
Zebre (7) 19
Tries: Boni, Canna, van Schalkwyk Cons: Canna 2
Edinburgh (13) 24
Tries: Dean, Helu Con: Weir Pens: Weir 4

Edinburgh ended a run of three straight Pro12 defeats with a 24-19 victory over bottom club Zebre in Parma.

Duncan Hodge's side trailed to Tommaso Boni's first-half try, but Chris Dean crossed just before the interval to nudge Edinburgh ahead.

Winger Will Helu touched down to extend the visitors' lead, but Carlo Canna's try clawed Zebre back within a score.

Duncan Weir kicked two late penalties, before Andries van Schalkwyk scored to earn the Italians a losing bonus point.

Edinburgh had suffered a shock defeat to Zebre at Murrayfield in October - Gianluca Guidi's side's first-ever win on Scottish soil.

Weir got Edinburgh off the mark with his first of four penalties, and a haul of 14 points from the tee, but the visitors fell behind on 25 minutes when centre Boni crossed at the corner, Canna converting.

Weir kicked three more points, before centre Dean scooped up a loose ball and outstripped the Zebre cover defence to score, his fly-half adding the extras on the stroke of half-time.

Helu latched onto man-of-the-match Blair Kinghorn's kick through to extend Edinburgh's lead to 11 points, but Canna rounded off a period of Zebre pressure with a try of his own.

The Italian pivot failed to convert, however, and Weir slotted two more penalties to take Hodge's men two scores ahead.

Edinburgh's replacement scrum-half Nathan Fowles was shown a late yellow card as Zebre searched for a losing bonus point, and found it when van Schalkwyk crossed with the final play, Canna converting.

Zebre: Edoardo Padovani, Kurt Baker, Tommaso Boni, Faialaga Afamasaga, Giovanbattista Venditti, Carlo Canna, Marcello Violi; Andries Van Schalkwyk, Johan Meyer, Derick Minnie, George Biagi, Quintin Geldenhuys, Dario Chistolini, Tommaso D'Apice, Andrea Lovotti.

Replacements: Carlo Festuccia, Guillermo Roan, Pietro Ceccarelli, Joshua Furno, Federico Ruzza, Guglielmo Palazzani, Matteo Pratichetti, Mattia Bellini.

Edinburgh: Blair Kinghorn, Damien Hoyland, Chris Dean, Junior Rasolea, Will Helu, Duncan Weir, Sean Kennedy, Allan Dell, Ross Ford, Simon Berghan, Fraser McKenzie, Ben Toolis, Magnus Bradbury, Jamie Ritchie, Cornell Du Preez.

Replacements: Stuart McInally, Allan Dell, Murray McCallum, Fraser McKenzie, Viliame Mata, Sean Kennedy, Jason Tovey, Glenn Bryce.

Top Stories