European Rugby Challenge Cup: Harlequins 75-3 Timisoara Saracens

Randall Morrison sent off
Timisoara Saracens were down to 14 men in only the second minute after Randall Morrison was sent off
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Harlequins (35) 75
Tries: Wallace, Visser, Roberts 3, Brown 2, Yarde 2, Clifford, Swiel Cons: Jackson 5, Swiel 5 Red card: Luamanu
Timisoara Saracens (0) 3
Pen: Conache Red card: Morrison

Harlequins went top of Pool Five of the European Challenge Cup with a 75-3 thrashing of 14-man Timisoara Saracens.

The Romanians, beaten 42-3 at home by Quins last week, had Randall Morrison sent off in only the second minute for a high tackle on Marland Yarde.

Wales centre Jamie Roberts scored a hat-trick, while England duo Yarde and Mike Brown crossed twice.

Luke Wallace, Tim Visser, Jack Clifford and Tim Swiel also touched down, while Quins had Mat Luamanu sent off late on.

Ruardidh Jackson and Swiel each added five conversions as Quins notched up their record European win, with Gabriel Conache slotting over the visitors' only points from the tee.

The victory moves Quins, beaten Challenge Cup finalists last season, two points clear of Edinburgh at the top of the pool with three wins from four games.

Harlequins have now also won 12 successive home games in the competition in a run stretching back to 2006-07, while Conache's penalty was the first points Timisoara Saracens have scored away from home in this season's competition.

Harlequins: Mike Brown; Marland Yarde, Joe Marchant, Jamie Roberts, Tim Visser; Ruaridh Jackson, Danny Care (capt); Joe Marler, Rob Buchanan, Kyle Sinckler, George Merrick, Charlie Matthews, James Chisholm, Luke Wallace, Jack Clifford.

Replacements: Dave Ward, Owen Evans, Adam Jones, Stan South, Mat Luamanu, Karl Dickson, Tim Swiel, Alofa Alofa.

Sent off: Luamanu (76)

Timisoara Saracens: Stephen Shennan; Madalin Lemnaru, Brian Sefanaia, Paula Kinikinilau, Fonovai Tangimana; Jack Umaga, Gabriel Conache; Edmund Aholelei, Andrei Radoi, Horatiu Pungea, Valentin Popirlan, Marian Drenceanu, Randall Morrison, Dorin Lazar, Gabriel Ianus.

Replacements: Eugen Capatana, Gigi Militaru, Samuel Maris, Ionut Muresan, Victor Dumitru, Marius Simionescu, Florin Popa, Marian Gorcioaia.

Sent off: Morrison (2)

Referee: Thomas Charabas (France).

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunion on Twitter.

Top Stories