England: Semesa Rokoduguni and Marland Yarde retained for Australia Test

By Chris JonesBBC Radio 5 live rugby reporter
England's Semesa Rokoduguni and Marland Yarde
Semesa Rokoduguni (left) and Marland Yarde are competing for the wing spot vacated by Elliot Daly
England v Australia
Venue: Twickenham Date: Saturday, 3 December Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Coverage: Listen live on BBC Radio 5 live at 14:30 GMT; text commentary on BBC Sport website.

Semesa Rokoduguni and Marland Yarde have been retained in England's 25-man squad to prepare for Saturday's match against Australia at Twickenham.

The pair are competing for the wing spot vacated by Elliot Daly, who has been banned for three weeks.

Yarde is thought to be the favourite to replace Daly, while Nathan Hughes is the likely option at number eight with Billy Vunipola injured.

Head coach Eddie Jones will name his matchday squad of 23 on Thursday.

Daly was banned after being sent off in last weekend's victory over Argentina.

England's Nathan Hughes
Wasps forward Nathan Hughes missed England's win over Argentina because of a foot problem

Hughes spent much of Tuesday's training session in England's first-choice back row, alongside Chris Robshaw and Tom Wood.

The Fiji-born Wasps forward has won two caps this autumn as a replacement, but has yet to make a first international start.

Elsewhere in the back row, Teimana Harrison has also been retained, but Jack Clifford has returned to Harlequins.

Yarde started on the wing against South Africa, but has not featured since, while Rokoduguni made a try-scoring return to Test rugby against Fiji, before being dropped from the squad to face the Pumas.

Regular full-back Mike Brown and prop Joe Marler both missed training on Tuesday, but neither have a serious injury.

England 25-man squad:

Forwards: Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Jamie George (Saracens), Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), George Kruis (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints).

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te'o (Worcester Warriors), Marland Yarde (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Top Stories


Elsewhere on the BBC