Rochelle Clark to break Jason Leonard's caps record as England Women face Ireland

Rochelle Clark
Clarke (centre) came on as a substitute in England Women's victory over France on Wednesday
Ireland Women v England Women
Venue: University College Dublin Date: Sunday, 13 November Kick-off: 14:00 BST
Coverage: Live on

Rochelle Clark is set to overtake Jason Leonard and become England's most capped player after being selected to play against Ireland on Sunday.

The prop, 35, will be making her 115th international appearance, equalling Scotland's Donna Kennedy as the record caps holder in the women's game.

Clarke made her debut in 2003 and helped England win the 2014 World Cup.

England have made five changes to the team which beat France 10-5 at the Twickenham Stoop on Wednesday.

Clark equalled fellow prop Leonard's 114 caps in that game.

Vicky Fleetwood will start at hooker against Ireland with Amy Cokayne moved to the replacements' bench, while lock Harriet Millar-Mills, scrum-half La Toya Mason and outside-half Emily Scott also start.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Rochelle Clark is given a message by Jason Leonard ahead of England's game against France

Head coach Simon Middleton said: "Our plan was always to rotate the squad and look at different player combinations.

"I am confident that, with the quality and strength of our squad, whatever combination we use we can produce a positive result."

Sunday's match at University College Dublin does not form part of the autumn international series.

The Red Roses will return to the competition against the world's number one side New Zealand at Twickenham on 19 November before facing Canada, ranked second in the world, a week later.

Ireland: Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster), Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht), Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls), Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht), Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union), Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster), Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster), Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's/Leinster), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster), Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's/Leinster, capt).

Replacements: Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster), Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster), Katie Norris (Blackrock/Leinster), Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemians/Munster), Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht), Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Ulster), Jackie Shiels (Old Belvedere/Leinster).

England: Danielle Waterman (Bristol), Kay Wilson (Richmond), Claire Allan (Saracens), Rachael Burford (Aylesford Bulls), Fiona Pocock (Aylesford Bulls), Emily Scott (Saracens), La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park), Rochelle Clark (Worcester), Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens), Laura Keates (Worcester), Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park), Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield), Alex Matthews (Richmond), Marlie Packer (Bristol), Sarah Hunter (Bristol, capt).

Replacements: Amy Cokayne (Lichfield), Vickii Cornborough (Aylesford Bulls), Sarah Bern (Bristol), Poppy Cleall (Bristol), Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol), Natasha Hunt (Lichfield), Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park), Ceri Large (Worcester).

Subscribe to the BBC Sport newsletter to get our pick of news, features and video sent to your inbox.

Top Stories