Pro12: Leinster 24-13 Connacht

Kieran Marmion of Connacht in action against Leinster's Jack Conan
Connacht's last win in Dublin came 14 years ago
Guinness Pro12
Leinster: (9) 24
Tries: A. Byrne, Daly Cons: Nacewa Pens: Nacewa 4
Connacht: (6) 13
Tries: Delahunt Cons: Carty Pens: Ronaldson 2

Adam Byrne and Barry Daly ran in second-half tries as Leinster reversed last season's Pro12 final result with an impressive victory over Connacht.

A crowd of 18,200 at the RDS saw home captain Isa Nacewa kick 14 points as Connacht were denied a first win in Dublin for 14 years.

It gave Leinster revenge for their defeat by the Westerners in last season's Pro12 final.

They are top of the table, level on 26 points with Ospreys and Glasgow.

Top half of the Pro12 table
Top half of the Pro12 table

A fiercely-contested first half ended 9-6 in Leinster's favour, Nacewa's three penalties cancelling out an early brace from Connacht centre Craig Ronaldson.

Those scores from UCD wingers Byrne (49 minutes) and Daly (75) had Leinster out of sight before Connacht's replacement hooker Shane Delahunt took a great line to score a last-minute consolation try.

Off set-piece ball in the Connacht 22, the hosts managed to suck in the Connacht defence and passes from Jamison Gibson-Park and Sean Cronin led to Byrne scooping up a bouncing ball to touch down in the right corner for the opening try.

Leinster's scrum appeared on the verge of winning a penalty try before Daly marked his first Pro12 start with a try, going over wide on the left from a flat Joey Carbery pass.

After Nacewa's conversion, Connacht broke downfield and their efforts were eventually rewarded with Delahunt's seven-pointer by the posts.

Leinster: Nacewa, A Byrne, O'Loughlin, Reid, Daly, Carbery, Gibson-Park, Healy, Cronin, Ross, M Kearney, Nagle, Leavy, O'Brien, Conan.

Replacements: R. Kearney for O'Loughlin (63), Dooley for Healy (58), Tracy for Cronin (58), Bent for Ross (58), McCarthy for M Kearney (45), van der Flier for O'Brien (67).

Not used: L McGrath, R Byrne.

Sin bin: O'Brien (27).

Connacht: O'Halloran, Adeolokun, Robb, Ronaldson, Kelleher, Carty, Marmion, J Cooney, Heffernan, Carey, Roux, Browne, O'Brien, Heenan, Muldoon.

Replacements: Ili for Kelleher (69), Blade for Marmion (76), Delahunt for Heffernan (58), Robertson-McCoy for Carey (53), E McKeon for O'Brien (53).

Not used: Bealham, Cannon, Aki.