Six uncapped players named in Ireland squad for New Zealand game in Chicago

Joey Carbery and Garry Ringrose
Joey Carbery and Garry Ringrose have been in good form for Leinster

Six uncapped players have been named in a 34-man Ireland squad for the Test against world champions New Zealand in Chicago on 5 November.

Leinster quartet Joey Carbery, Luke McGrath, Garry Ringrose and James Tracy feature, along with Munster's Billy Holland and John Ryan.

Ian Madigan, who plays in France for Bordeaux-Begles, has been omitted.

Injury doubt Iain Henderson is in the squad, along with Keith Earls, who is serving a two-week ban.

Versatile forward Henderson is likely to be ruled out of the first of Ireland's four autumn Tests.

He faces two to four weeks on the sidelines with a shoulder injury sustained in Ulster's Champions Cup win over Exeter.

Earls was banned after being sent off for a dangerous tackle on Fraser Brown in Munster's win over Glasgow on Saturday.

Ireland's 2016 autumn internationals
5 Novemberv New ZealandSoldier Field, Chicago20:00 GMT
12 Novemberv CanadaAviva Stadium, Dublin19:15 GMT
19 Novemberv New ZealandAviva Stadium, Dublin17:30 GMT
26 Novemberv AustraliaAviva Stadium, Dublin17:30 GMT

Centre Stuart Olding has been left out after suffering a hip injury which is likely to rule him out of Ulster's Pro12 match with Munster on Friday.

However, provincial team-mate Luke Marshall, who started two of the three Tests on the summer tour of South Africa, is in the squad despite nursing a knee injury.

Peter O'Mahony returns to Ireland duty after a year-long battle to recover from a cruciate ligament injury, having played 180 minutes in Munster's last four matches.

The inclusion of open-side flanker Sean O'Brien, who has overcome a torn hamstring sustained in the Six Nations in February, adds to coach Joe Schmidt's back-row options.

Sean O'Brien has played 40 minutes for Leinster A and 40 minutes for Leinster on his return from injury
Sean O'Brien has played 40 minutes for Leinster A and 40 minutes for Leinster on his return from injury

The 29-year-old was taken off midway through Leinster's Champions Cup defeat by Montpellier but is expected to play in the inter-provincial derby with Connacht on Saturday.

Fears over Johnny Sexton's fitness eased this week after the Leinster fly-half was replaced at half-time in the defeat by Montpellier, having handed kicking duties to Isa Nacewa.

Sexton had missed his province's Champions Cup opener against Castres with a hamstring injury.

Ireland have never beaten the All Blacks, who extended their winning streak to a record 18 matches by beating Australia 37-10 on Saturday.

Ireland squad: Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Rory Best (Ulster, capt), Joey Carbery (Leinster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Keith Earls (Munster), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster, vice captain), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster), Billy Holland (Munster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Luke McGrath (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), John Ryan (Munster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Devin Toner (Leinster), James Tracy (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster), Simon Zebo (Munster).

Top Stories