Scarlets: Johnny McNicholl named in Champions Cup squad

Johnny McNicholl
Johnny McNicholl has singed a three year contract with Scarlets
Pro12: Scarlets v Newport Gwent Dragons
Date: Saturday, 8 October Venue: Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli Kick-off: 19:35 BST
Coverage: Live on S4C. Highlights later on the BBC Sport website and Scrum V on Sunday, BBC Two Wales.

Scarlets have included Johnny McNicholl in their European Champions Cup squad.

The Crusaders wing is among 41 players named in the squad, although he is unlikely to arrive in Wales until after their opening pool two matches.

The 25-year-old will not leave New Zealand until Crusaders' ITM Cup campaign is over.

Scarlets face Sale Sharks on 15 October, followed by defending champions Saracens before playing Toulon twice in December.

Meanwhile, Wales internationals Jonathan Davies and Jake Ball will be rested for Saturday's Pro 12 derby match against Newport Gwent Dragons.

Both are expected to start in the European matches, while Wales tight-head prop Samson Lee will face the Dragons after making his season debut in the 6-22 win over Treviso.

The victory in Italy was Scarlets' second of the season after three straight defeats in their opening matches.

Head coach Wayne Pivac said the win was crucial.

"After the slow start the Connacht and Treviso games were very important and we needed to get wins so now there's a clear focus on Dragons before we worry about Europe," he said.

"After three losses it was important to get three wins and that's what we've targeted to achieve against the Dragons."

Scarlets European squad: Dylan Evans, Luke Garrett, Rob Evans, Wyn Jones, Emyr Phillips, Ken Owens, Ryan Elias, Peter Edwards, Samson Lee, Werner Kruger, David Bulbring, Jake Ball, Lewis Rawlins, Rynier Bernardo, Tom Price, Aaron Shingler, James Davies, John Barclay, Josh Macleod, Morgan Allen, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Condy, Will Boyde, Aled Davies, Gareth Davies, Jonathan Evans, Declan Smith, Aled Thomas, Dan Jones, Rhys Patchell, Gareth Owen, Hadleigh Parkes, Jonathan Davies, Scott Williams, Steff Hughes, DTH van der Merwe, Steff Evans, Richard Smith, Tom Williams, Johnny McNicholl, Liam Williams