Premiership: Bristol 17-41 Exeter Chiefs

By Phil ShepkaBBC Sport
Olly Woodburn
Olly Woodburn scored two early tries to set Exeter on their way to victory
Bristol (5) 17
Tries: Williams, McMillan, Crumpton Con: Williams
Exeter (24) 41
Tries: Woodburn 2, Waldrom 2, Hill Cons: Steenson 5 Pens: Steenson 2

Olly Woodburn and Thomas Waldrom both scored two tries as Exeter defeated a Bristol side who remain without a victory since their Premiership return.

The Chiefs went into half-time with a 24-5 lead thanks to two scores from Woodburn and one from Waldrom, with Jordan Williams responding for Bristol.

Waldrom added a fourth for Exeter's bonus point shortly after the break.

Ross McMillan and Max Crumpton gave Bristol hope of an unlikely comeback, but Exeter's Sam Hill's scored late on.

The result in the first match between the two West Country sides since the 2010 Championship play-off final leaves newly promoted Bristol at the bottom of the table with only one point from their opening four games.

Having conceded 10 tries against Wasps in the previous round of fixtures, Bristol again struggled to stop the tide and Woodburn had his side in front within two minutes after finishing off a quick passing move.

And despite being down to 14 men because of Ian Whitten's yellow card for a collision with Ryan Edwards, Woodburn added his side's second off the shoulder of Hill.

Williams' response came after some stunning footwork by Edwards, but Waldrom's close-range scores either side of half-time extended the lead to 26 points.

McMillan finished off a maul and Crumpton scored in the corner for Bristol, but they could not get a bonus point with another try, before Hill swerved around three defenders to score and wrap up the Chiefs' second win of the season.

Bristol: Williams; Edwards, Hurrell, Palamo, Varndell; Pisi, Cliff; Traynor, McMillan, Cortes, Phillips, Sorenson, Fisher, Lam (capt), Crane.

Replacements: Crumpton, Tonga'uiha, Ford-Robinson, Joyce, Eadie, Roberts, Jarvis, Amesbury.

Exeter: Turner; Woodburn, Hill, Slade, Whitten; Steenson (capt), Chudley; Hepburn, Cowan-Dickie, Holmes, Lees, Welch, Dennis, Salvi, Waldrom

Replacements: Yeandle, Moon, Williams, Parling, Horstmann, Lewis, Devoto, Short

For the latest rugby union news follow @bbcrugbyunionexternal-link on Twitter.

Top Stories